The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2007, 08:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Violation or not?

This is the scenario. The defender deflects a pass and the ball is going outside, he runs after it and keeps the ball in play but he himself cannot stop and runs outside but he keeps running, comes back inside the court and picks up the ball and goes on to score or pass or whatever.

Violation? If it is, what kind of violation and why?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2007, 08:17pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Legal in NFHS.

But I think it's illegal in NCAA-M & NCAA-W.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2007, 08:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 655
Does deflecting it constitute the start of a dribble?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2007, 08:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
No. And even if it did, lets say it was a long rebound, and he goes after it. Saves it, then comes back in to pick up the dribble or pass or shoot or whatever.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2007, 09:28pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
Legal in NFHS.

But I think it's illegal in NCAA-M & NCAA-W.

This play is also legal in NCAA Men's/Women's play.

NCAA R7-S1-A1 states: A player shall be out of bounds when he or she touches the floor or any object other tha a player on or outside a boundary line. An airborne player's status shall be wher he or she was last in contact with the floor. A.R. 143: A1 blocks a pas near the end line. The ball falls to the floor inbounds but A1, who is off balance, falls outside the end line. A1 returns, secures control of the ball, and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 has not left the playing court voluntarily and was not in control of the ball when leaving the playing court. This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes [shoud read: attempts] a try from under the basket and momentum carries
A1 off the playing court. The try is unsuccessful, and A1 comes onto the playing court and regains control of the ball.

As long as A1 has not gained control of the ball while saving the ball, the key to remember is whether A1 volunarily left the court or not. If the official judges A1 to have left the playing court because of his momentum then no violation has been committed.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2007, 09:38pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
As long as A1 has not gained control of the ball while saving the ball, the key to remember is whether A1 volunarily left the court or not. If the official judges A1 to have left the playing court because of his momentum then no violation has been committed.

MTD, Sr.
Bingo, that's what I was missing. I was reading into it too much. Thanks, Mark.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2007, 10:13pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by sticks_m
This is the scenario. The defender deflects a pass and the ball is going outside, he runs after it and keeps the ball in play but he himself cannot stop and runs outside but he keeps running, comes back inside the court and picks up the ball and goes on to score or pass or whatever.

Violation? If it is, what kind of violation and why?

Thanks.
Legal play. The player must establish him/herself back inbounds before touching the ball.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 13, 2007, 12:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,796
I posted the NFHS and NCAA rulings in this recent thread. See post #10.

Need 2 Rulings!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 13, 2007, 01:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP
Does deflecting it constitute the start of a dribble?
As already mentioned, 'no', but for clarify this is from the thread referenced by Nevada:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
NFHS:
7.1.1 SITUATION B: A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the floor inbounds, but A1, who is off balance, steps off the court. A1 returns inbounds, secures control of the ball and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did. This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and momentum carries A1 off the court. If the try is unsuccessful, A1 may come back onto the court and regain control since A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did.
7.1.1 SITUATION C: A1 blocks a pass near the sideline and the ball goes into A1's front court. A1's momentum carries him/her out of bounds. He/she immediately returns inbounds, secures control of the ball, dribbles, shoots, and scores. RULING: Legal. (4-35-1a; 7-1-2; 9-3)
7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
In the OP the ball was deflected, not caught and therefore not controlled. I thought you had a good question and wanted to answer it more clearly myself!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Violation or Not????? MichiganOfficial Basketball 2 Tue Feb 07, 2006 01:40pm
3 second violation xxontap Basketball 1 Sat Feb 04, 2006 06:05pm
10 second violation hbomzer Basketball 8 Sun Feb 20, 2005 12:42pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm
3 second violation JLC Basketball 2 Tue Oct 15, 2002 02:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1