The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 04, 2006, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
When the offensive team is inbounding the ball and an offensive player is in the lane, does the 3 second count start when the ball is inbounds or when the referee hands the ball to the player throwing it in?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 04, 2006, 06:05pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
The three second count does not start until team control is established and the ball has front court status. One thing to remember here.
The ball cannot have front court status while it is out of bounds. That means the throwin must be over before a 3 second count can start.
Now, once the throwin is over, the team with the ball must have the ball in their front court in order for the official to start a three second count.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1