The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2007, 09:28pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
Legal in NFHS.

But I think it's illegal in NCAA-M & NCAA-W.

This play is also legal in NCAA Men's/Women's play.

NCAA R7-S1-A1 states: A player shall be out of bounds when he or she touches the floor or any object other tha a player on or outside a boundary line. An airborne player's status shall be wher he or she was last in contact with the floor. A.R. 143: A1 blocks a pas near the end line. The ball falls to the floor inbounds but A1, who is off balance, falls outside the end line. A1 returns, secures control of the ball, and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 has not left the playing court voluntarily and was not in control of the ball when leaving the playing court. This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes [shoud read: attempts] a try from under the basket and momentum carries
A1 off the playing court. The try is unsuccessful, and A1 comes onto the playing court and regains control of the ball.

As long as A1 has not gained control of the ball while saving the ball, the key to remember is whether A1 volunarily left the court or not. If the official judges A1 to have left the playing court because of his momentum then no violation has been committed.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2007, 09:38pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
As long as A1 has not gained control of the ball while saving the ball, the key to remember is whether A1 volunarily left the court or not. If the official judges A1 to have left the playing court because of his momentum then no violation has been committed.

MTD, Sr.
Bingo, that's what I was missing. I was reading into it too much. Thanks, Mark.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Violation or Not????? MichiganOfficial Basketball 2 Tue Feb 07, 2006 01:40pm
3 second violation xxontap Basketball 1 Sat Feb 04, 2006 06:05pm
10 second violation hbomzer Basketball 8 Sun Feb 20, 2005 12:42pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm
3 second violation JLC Basketball 2 Tue Oct 15, 2002 02:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1