The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 07:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
This is scary. Dan and I agree on this. Why wouldn't 4-3-3 apply during a throw-in? Is there somewhere in the rules where it says that it doesn't?
Legitimate question followed by another:

If you have a double foul in the key after the throw-in has been released but before it is touched(like the current situation), where is the POI?
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalreff
Legitimate question followed by another:

If you have a double foul in the key after the throw-in has been released but before it is touched(like the current situation), where is the POI?
Ah, answering a question with another question. I like that, I'll give it a shot...

Where in the original post is there a foul of any type?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Ah, answering a question with another question. I like that, I'll give it a shot...

Where in the original post is there a foul of any type?
Let me connect the dots....
Would the throw-in spot be any different in the 2 scenarios? (Mine or the original)
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 07:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalreff
Let me connect the dots....
Would the throw-in spot be any different in the 2 scenarios? (Mine or the original)
Yep, because under the current rules the OP is NOT a POI situation because the reason for the stoppage is not one of those listed in 4-36-1.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 07:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Yep, because under the current rules the OP is NOT a POI situation because the reason for the stoppage is not one of those listed in 4-36-1.
So what I'm hearing is that you're going to complete the throw-in for them and advance the ball?!?
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 12:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalreff
So what I'm hearing is that you're going to complete the throw-in for them and advance the ball?!?
Let me be clear: In the OP, I believe that the current NFHS rules are terrible and should be changed. I believe that the current NFHS rules call for the official to advance the ball for the team, if the AP arrow favors them. I won't do that. I will fudge this one and say that it falls under an interrupted game, then use 4-36 (POI).

In your example, with the double foul, the ball doesn't advance per the current rules because this situation is cleary covered by the POI definition and that rule says to resume with the throw-in or FT that the stoppage occurred during.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 01:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Let me be clear: In the OP, I believe that the current NFHS rules are terrible and should be changed.
I don't know about terrible, but I definitely think there needs to be clarification about this (I think a casebook play would be exactly what we need).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I believe that the current NFHS rules call for the official to advance the ball for the team, if the AP arrow favors them.
Okay, I'm still with you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I won't do that.
WOAH....you admit what the rules are regarding this, but refuse to enforce them

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I will fudge this one and say that it falls under an interrupted game, then use 4-36 (POI).
And of course, while we're not going to enforce the correct rule, let's improperly apply another


Your post is completely absurd. What if I said, "The penalty for slapping the backboard (while not attempting to block a shot) is a technical foul. I won't do that. I'll just call it basket interference"? That's absurd! While I may believe that's what the penalty should be, I don't do it.

Maybe we should just all ask Nevada what he thinks the proper rule for everything should be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 07:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalreff
Let me connect the dots....
Would the throw-in spot be any different in the 2 scenarios? (Mine or the original)
Not following you at all my friend.

One whistle is for a foul.

The other is to fix a clock error.

Completely different scenarios.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalreff
Legitimate question followed by another:

If you have a double foul in the key after the throw-in has been released but before it is touched(like the current situation), where is the POI?
The original throw-in spot.

Why? -- because a double foul DURING a throw-in is clearly one of the items listed in 4-36-1 that invokes the POI rule. Ball location doesn't matter if the double foul happened DURING the throw-in because 4-36-2b doesn't say to go to the location of the ball, only 4-36-2a does. For part b the POI is the throw-in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
the time displayed as post time is way off chuck chopper General / Off-Topic 2 Wed Mar 29, 2006 02:09pm
First One in a long time FrankHtown Basketball 8 Thu Dec 22, 2005 02:34pm
Long time no post... brandan89 Basketball 21 Wed Sep 29, 2004 05:30pm
Another long time listener, first time caller Fifth And Goal Basketball 11 Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? Deion Softball 1 Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1