![]() |
|
|
|||
Long Time Lurker, First Time Poster
Greetings all - had a play last weekend that I would like some opinions on:
After a TO, Team A (down by 6) is inbounding the ball on the endline after a made basket with 32.3 seconds in the 4th QTR. A1 throws the ball in and A2 allows it to bounce/roll to about midcourt without touching it in an attempt to keep the clock stopped. As soon as I realize that A2 has not touched the ball I glance up and see the clock running. When I kill the play the ball is roughly at the division line. After instructing the timer to put 32.3 back up I would be interested in hearing your thoughts on where to inbound the ball. For the record I inbounded at half court with 32.3 on the clock because that was the location of the live ball when I stopped play to fix the timing error and I could see Team B's coach salivating over the opportunity to put the ball on the endline and slap a press on, in effect allowing the timing error to deny Team A the precious 2 or 3 seconds it earned on the original inbound. |
|
|||
I don't know if that is correct by the rules, but it sounds good to me.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
|
|||
There's no concensus on this play. Some will tell you to do what you did. Others will tell you to take the ball back to the endline. I know of no case play or interp that addresses it.
One question. After the TO, Team B didn't press. Why do you think that he's suddenly going to press now? And more importantly, why would you care? That's not our concern. Welcome to the forum.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
So here, we have a stoppage during a throw-in, but not when the thrower is holding the ball. So what does the rule tell us to do? It doesn't!! ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
This is an inadvertent whistle during a throw-in. The POI is a throw-in to the team who is making the throw-in. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Take a look at 4-36-2 (POI rule) and 4-42-5.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
|||
Interesting point that it is not an official's "accidental whistle". It's definitely on purpose to correct the timing mistake. However, without any other rule to go by, I would continue using the POI rule and give the throw-in to the team that had just made the throw-in.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Here's another thought I'd like to see what you guys think about, if there's no press on, why not just wait until he touches the ball, blow it dead, and reset the clock to the correct time, and then there's no question about where to give him the ball. Then again, that could be risky if the defense is anywhere near the ball or if Jon Diebler is playing defense. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
The pertinent rules are: DEAD BALL 6-7-5 The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when: . . . An official's whistle is blown ALTERNATING POSSESSION 6-4-3 . . . Alternating-possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when: e. The ball becomes dead when neither team is in control and no goal, infraction nor end of a quarter/extra period is involved. CONTROL, PLAYER AND TEAM 4-12-6 . . . Neither team control nor player control exists during a dead ball, throw-in, a jump ball or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal. BALL LOCATION, 4-4-3 . . . A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court. Therefore, by the current wording of the NFHS rules, this play results in an AP throw-in from the nearest OOB spot to where the ball last contacted the floor. I'll state now that I believe that this is an absolutely horrible outcome, but it is the current application of the rules. In my opinion, any official who did it that way would need a police escort out of the gym, if the arrow happened to favor the defense. So what else can we do? What should have been done two years ago when the definition of POI was added is that the sentence from 6-4-3e should have been moved into 4-36-1. It is very similar to an interrupted game, but not exactly the same. The two should be treated in the same manner though. (Note: Until the rules are changed, I'm ruling that the situation in the OP IS an "interrupted game" and applying the POI rule.) What this would do is allow the POI sequence to properly be applied to this situation. 4-36-2a would be bypassed as there is no team control, but 4-36-2b would take precedence over 4-36-2c, since the stoppage occurred DURING the throw-in, thus the AP arrow would not need to be used. (However, if the ball had been tapped or deflected on the court, but the whistle sounded prior to control being established, then 4-36-2c would take effect.) RULE 4, SECTION 36 POINT OF INTERRUPTION ART. 1 . . . Method of resuming play due to an official's accidental whistle, an interrupted game, as in 5-4-3, a correctable error, as in 2-10-6, a double personal, double technical or simultaneous foul, as in 4-19-8 and 4-19-10. [The ball becomes dead when ART. 2 …Play shall be resumed by one of the following: a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred. b. A free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such. c. An alternating-possession throw-in when the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved. Applying this would give the ball back to the throwing team at the original throw-in location because 4-36-2b does NOT say ball location. A casebook play could be added to clarify this. I'll pass this along to my fellow NV official who is on the NFHS rules committee. The wording needs some fine-tuning to account for time-outs, but I think that we can make it right. ![]() Last edited by Nevadaref; Thu Mar 22, 2007 at 03:37pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
the time displayed as post time is way off | chuck chopper | General / Off-Topic | 2 | Wed Mar 29, 2006 02:09pm |
First One in a long time | FrankHtown | Basketball | 8 | Thu Dec 22, 2005 02:34pm |
Long time no post... | brandan89 | Basketball | 21 | Wed Sep 29, 2004 05:30pm |
Another long time listener, first time caller | Fifth And Goal | Basketball | 11 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am |
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? | Deion | Softball | 1 | Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am |