![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
2) That's exactly what I was asking you. What has whether a heel is off the floor or not got to do with anything? NFHS rule 4-23-2(a), which is the applicable rule for the block/charge being discussed simply states that to attain LGP, the guard must have both feet touching the playing court. There nothing anywhere stating that the foot must be flat on the court, and there never has been. 3) And this statement of your's is exactly why I was asking the questions. It is wrong. You don't understand the concept and you're making up your own interpretation. There is NO rule requiring that the heel has to touch the court before a defender can attain LGP. The rule says that the foot merely has to touch the court. Don't take any of that personally either. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
It'll probably take you a long time, seeing that you're dumb as a post when it comes to officiating, and always have been. Don't take that personally either. It's a fact. |
|
|||
Quote:
Bucky? ![]() |
|
|||
![]()
BTW how about a big thumbs up
![]() PS I don't know how you or someone else posted these video clips, but I would love to get a copy of the DVD of this game for training purposes for my local area officials. PM me, please. |
|
|||
Quote:
I was happy to see some of the big dogs here agree with the call...I also agree that it was so close a block might have been called, I just wouldn't want to be on the "block" side of that particular call at that particular point in the game. (Game winning shot) Don't get me wrong...if I thought it was a block I would have called a block. But, after viewing the film...I'm glad I was on the "charge" side of that call. (Sometimes we officials just get lucky) ![]() Nevada: Our local newspaper has many video clips, like these, of certain games in our area. Go to tricityherald.com and sign up (free) to get these clips...you need Quciktime to view them. I'll post some more if you guys would like.
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Please post more of them, they are great! ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
1. First and foremost, you need to review your post(s) before you start throwing daggers. Yes, I said "set" as in, "his foot was not completely set on the floor," meaning that part of the foot was still off of the floor, I used it as a verb. You said, "What rule states that a defender has to have his heel down to have that foot set?" When you used the word "set" you used it in a different context, as if the word "set" was a state of being and part of the definition for LGP (which, BTW may also be a verb, I'm not sure). I'm sure the use of the word "set" is officialese (so to speak) but it's been used a couple of times in the thread as if the foot being "set" as if that word was part of the definition for LGP, which I'm sure we both agree it isn't. 2. 4-23-2 is the rule that I was looking out when I was trying to figure out what rule applied, so apparently I got that right. Looking at 4-23-2(a), and discarding all the filler words, the operative words that we are really left with are "guard .. both .. feet .. touching .. court." The only one of these terms that is defined in the rule book is court (court areas to be specific). You have emphasized the word "touching" in your argument, leaving me with the impression that you consider it an important term. So help me understand, why do you consider the definition of only one of the words in the rule to be important when it comes to defining this particular rule. and finally: 3. More dagger throwing. Tell me exactly what I have "made up." I'm new, so I agree, I may not yet understand the concept .... but I didn't make up anything. When I first registered on this board in December it became apparent to me that I would have to quickly decide who in this collective basketball officiating brain trust to pay attention to and who to ignore. You are one of the ones I pay attention to as is Nevada, BITS, some guy named Rutledge, and a few others. What I liked about you was your strict interpretation of the rules and the challenges issued to other people to show you where it says this or where it doesn't say that. Your particular challenge to me was that the rule does not say that the heel must touch the court to establish LGP, it only says that the "foot" (that specific word, and in the past you have been all about specifics) merely must touch the court. I've never disagreed with you, as a matter of fact, that's exactly what it says. All I've done is define "foot" and like it or not, the heel is part of the foot. So, with all that said, my lovely bride has summoned me to an enchilada dinner and I'm hungry. I'll be back later. Added after dinner: This whole situation puts me in a real pickle. Not only do I have to ignore JRutledge but I can't describe play by play a video without making sure that Jurassic Referee agrees with the termanology I'm using. Old School do you need a Padawan Learner by chance?? Last edited by jmaellis; Wed Mar 14, 2007 at 01:39am. |
|
|||
Quote:
'Nuff said from me. Simply ignore in the future. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Video | zanzibar | Volleyball | 3 | Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:33pm |
How do you post a video | MJT | Football | 2 | Sat Oct 14, 2006 10:51am |
Video highlights | DrMooreReferee | Football | 17 | Fri Oct 13, 2006 02:03pm |
Re: the video | LJ57 | Softball | 3 | Tue Aug 15, 2006 02:12pm |
Use the video? | TriggerMN | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 12, 2004 02:56pm |