![]() |
|
|
|||
Over and Back - HS vs College
Just watched the UMass vs St. Louis game hi-lites and late in the game there was an over and back call where the guy was in the backcourt and his foot crossed the line and then he went back and got called for it...
correct me if I am wrong but in HS, all three points - ball and both feet have to be across to be considered in the Front Court...different for College...
__________________
Shake Your Head, Your Eyes Are Stuck! |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
If I remember from the highlight - both feet were over in the front court establishing himself, as a player, as being in the front court. Then by the natural movement of heading back to help with the ball pressure, he jumped from the front court, caught the ball and landed in the back court. It was a slight lapse in judgement on his part and the correct call either in HS or college. The 3 points rule that you are refering too concerns the player possessing the ball.
Damnit - too slow on the reply. That is what I get for hitting rewind on the Tivo to make sure I saw the play properly |
|
|||
unless my eyes are bad, there was nooooo way that the guy had both feet across the line...just one foot and i dont think the ball had even crossed...I think he blew the call...
__________________
Shake Your Head, Your Eyes Are Stuck! |
|
|||
I believe that Jurassic and I are on the same page here and we are not referencing a 3 point attempt. The three points of contact rule you are thinking of, only affects the ball handler. A player moving without the ball has established himself in the front court by having both feet in the front court, which #25 did in this case. From what I have seen it was the right call.
|
|
|||
I am on the same page as you - I think we are looking at different plays - this was very late in the game...
this guy was dribbling in the backcourt and got pressured at midcourt, but, to me, it looked like his foot, singular, touched the line and he started back..when he got called for it...
__________________
Shake Your Head, Your Eyes Are Stuck! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Tommy |
|
|||
Uff Da!!!
Consider the play as I told it.... The guy is continuously dribbling, not standing, not receiving, he is in posession of the ball in the backcourt heading to the frontcourt.... when ONE foot crosses the mid-court line - to me it only looked like 1/2 a foot - he lifts the foot and proceeds back into the backcourt... I got my answer - same in College as in HS... the call was blown....
__________________
Shake Your Head, Your Eyes Are Stuck! |
|
|||
Quote:
It does not apply to a player who is HOLDING the ball. Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Tommy |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
help for college | footlocker | Basketball | 33 | Wed Aug 23, 2006 10:20am |
College Rules | sm_bbcoach | Football | 4 | Mon Oct 10, 2005 11:42am |
Back Court Violation (Difference b/w HS & College) | cford | Basketball | 2 | Fri Jun 24, 2005 03:57pm |
College Mechanic for 'T's | SCBroncos | Basketball | 7 | Fri Feb 14, 2003 04:29pm |
College | Oz Referee | Basketball | 9 | Sun Dec 16, 2001 05:49pm |