The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2007, 11:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pasadena Ca
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to TRef21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Ted,
My references are from the 2006-07 NFHS Rules Book and the 2006-07 NCAA Rules Book. They are current.

It hinges upon why the player was OOB. If it was for a legal reason, then he can come back in and be the first to touch the ball without penalty in both NFHS and NCAA. However, if the going OOB was not legal, then I already gave you the proper rulings.

Here are the play rulings for legally being OOB and returning and getting the ball:
NCAA:
RULE 7, Section 1, Article 1
A.R. 143.
A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the floor inbounds but A1, who is off balance, falls outside the end line. A1 returns, secures control of the ball, and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 has not left the playing court voluntarily and was not in control of the ball when leaving the playing court. This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and momentum carries A1 off the playing court. The try is unsuccessful, and A1 comes onto the playing court and regains control of the ball.

NFHS:

7.1.1 SITUATION B: A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the floor inbounds, but A1, who is off balance, steps off the court. A1 returns inbounds, secures control of the ball and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did. This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and momentum carries A1 off the court. If the try is unsuccessful, A1 may come back onto the court and regain control since A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did.
7.1.1 SITUATION C: A1 blocks a pass near the sideline and the ball goes into A1's front court. A1's momentum carries him/her out of bounds. He/she immediately returns inbounds, secures control of the ball, dribbles, shoots, and scores. RULING: Legal. (4-35-1a; 7-1-2; 9-3)
7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)

Sounds correct to me. In NCAA you see those baseline screens set and the guy goes around out of out of bounds. If you notice you never see the ball being passed to the player you ran ob. Its passed in the post or some where else, so play on.
__________________
Tommy
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2007, 12:05am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTedP
2. Player 1 is fakes an 8 foot shot and player 2 turns for rebound, now with back against player 1. Player 1 drives and runs into player 2's back, knocking player 2 down. Is this charging? The argument I heard from ref was one cannot charge into another's back, only facing. This seems absurd, if true.
Not true, the ref misunderstands the rules and the purpose of legal guarding position. If this player is standing still, it should have been a player control foul on player 1. Players with their back turned get pushed all the time on rebounds, and we make this call; there's nothing about having the ball that allows someone to push with impunity.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2007, 01:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
^^ i completly agree with the above correct answers ^^
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2007, 02:59am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
^^ i completly agree with the above correct answers ^^
Me too, except for the one that is wrong.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd IT Rulings? oksportofficial Wrestling 4 Fri Dec 08, 2006 08:40pm
18 asa gold rulings fpsoftball1 Softball 1 Wed Jul 12, 2006 10:10pm
Same play, different rulings--MLB gsf23 Baseball 10 Mon Aug 01, 2005 05:34pm
NFHS rulings Storm Softball 4 Tue Apr 27, 2004 07:33pm
Two Rulings by a Coach whiskers_ump Softball 2 Mon Apr 22, 2002 03:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1