The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by hough7865
Hey all,

I coach a middle school team, and my brother is in high school, and I was watching one of his games this year and two situations happened and I wanted to know if what the officials did was correct. High School rules please...

1) I think this is what people call a BLARGE [sp?]. Three officials on the game, and there is a collision in the paint. One official called it a charge, the other a block. They gave both players a foul, called a double foul, and went with the arrow....is this correct?

2) Different game, a player on the other team got blood on his jersey. The officials let him take the jersey of a player, in the book, sitting on the bench. Is this allowed? What happens to the other player? What if they get the bloody jersey clean...can the original player use it again, and can the other player put his original jersey back on?

Thanks!
Um, that is a double foul which means you go to the point of interuption, not the arrow. The charge is a player control foul.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 04:11pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Point of interruption is the arrow if the contact happens after the unsuccessful shot is released.
It's my understanding that being a double foul makes this so it's no longer a PC foul. IOW, the basket would count if the shot was released prior to contact.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 04:22pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
The charge is a player control foul.
Not in this case, because the two fouls resulted in a double personal foul. But it does go POI and since there was no team control, go AP.

Edit: Snaq is correct. Read 4.19.8 Situation C.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 04:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
Not in this case, because the two fouls resulted in a double personal foul. But it does go POI and since there was no team control, go AP.

Edit: Snaq is correct. Read 4.19.8 Situation C.
If there is a crash in the paint, while the ball is in possesion of the offense, then how is there no player control? I dont think becuase its a double foul doesnt mean that the PC is cancelled.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 04:32pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
If there is a crash in the paint, while the ball is in possesion of the offense, then how is there no player control? I dont think becuase its a double foul doesnt mean that the PC is cancelled.
Oh but it is, it's in the case book.

Here's how the ruling reads: (4.19.8 Situation C, page 28/29)

Even though air-borne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul becasue the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
Oh but it is, it's in the case book.

Here's how the ruling reads: (4.19.8 Situation C, page 28/29)

Even though air-borne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul becasue the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line.
My bad, but you dont go to the AP>
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 04:37pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
My bad, but you dont go to the AP>
In your situation you wouldn't go AP because there was team control. Give the ball back to the offensive team.

In the OP, it wasn't described if there was TC or not. Therefore, JRut and I answered they handled it correctly provided there was no team control.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 04:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
My bad, but you dont go to the AP>
There's only one reason to go AP in this play. If the shot was released before contact, but was unsuccessful. Then you have no team control so you have to go AP.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
Oh but it is, it's in the case book.

Here's how the ruling reads: (4.19.8 Situation C, page 28/29)

Even though air-borne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul becasue the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line.
Thanks for typing this out. I do not have access to my books right now and it was driving me crazy. I remembered the double foul cancelling the PC, but somewhere I missed the double call by officials being a double foul.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 05:05pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
Thanks for typing this out. I do not have access to my books right now and it was driving me crazy. I remembered the double foul cancelling the PC, but somewhere I missed the double call by officials being a double foul.
You're welcome, not a problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
...further IFP questions Jaysef Football 4 Thu Aug 10, 2006 08:42am
AAU Questions drinkeii Basketball 0 Tue Jun 27, 2006 12:16am
questions re: [email protected] Baseball 13 Mon Jun 02, 2003 07:16am
2 more questions barney19 Lacrosse 2 Tue May 07, 2002 10:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1