![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Then you, with the ball, lock his arm on your shoulder, bend over and flip him over. The ONLY contact B1 has initiated is ON THE BALL. I don't have the NFHS rule book handy, but 10.20.1 in the NCAA book says: A player shall not hold, push, charge, trip or impede the progress of an opponent by extending arm(s), shoulder(s), hip(s) or knee(s) or by bending his or her own body into other than a normal position; nor use any unreasonably rough tactics. This SCREAMS rough tactic to me. Also, it impedes the progress of B1 trying to make a defensive move on the ball. |
|
|||
[quote=BadNewsRef]Held ball.
As Jurassic would say: Rule 4 section 25 Held Ball A held ball occurs when: Art 1: Opponents have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without undue roughness. well maybe not as good as JR; he is always sharp on the rules ![]() |
|
|||
[QUOTE=Splute]
Quote:
By your post, you seem to imply 4 hands. We can have a held with 2, 3 or 4. |
|
|||
In the first situation of a held ball I read the rules as meaning A1 has two hands on the ball and B1 has two hands on the ball. Thus I read it to mean, two hands by A1 and 1 hand by B1 does not constitute a held ball. In the blocking of a shot, this is not the case.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Can you not see justification for a held ball with only one defensive hand on the ball? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
[QUOTE=Splute]
Quote:
Rule 4 section 25 Held Ball A held ball occurs when: Art. 2: An opponent places his/her hand(s) on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try. There should be no difference in the plays. In both, the defense stopped the offensive player from doing what he wanted to do. If the defender has a hand on the ball sufficient to tie up the offensive player, just call the held ball. That's the purpose and intent of the rule imo. Contact occurring after the held ball is called may or may not be incidental, even though the contact might be severe. Judgment call whether it's a foul or not, but if you do call it, it has to be an intentional or flagrant technical foul, by rule and definition(R4-19-1NOTE&4-19-5c). That's my take on it, News. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Feb 15, 2007 at 11:31am. |
|
|||
[quote=Jurassic Referee][quote=Splute]As Jurassic would say:
Rule 4 section 25 Held Ball A held ball occurs when: Art. 2: An opponent places his/her hand(s) on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try. There should be no difference in the plays. In both, the defense stopped the offensive player from doing what he wanted to do. If the defender has a hand on the ball sufficient to tie up the offensive player, just call the held ball. That's the purpose and intent of the rule imo. Jurassic I respectfully disagree that there is no difference. If B1 only has one hand on the ball, then B1 is not holding so firmly that control can not be obtained withour undue force. IMO it is not too difficult to pull the ball away from someone who only has one hand on it, and over your back with no leverage. In situation two, it is a held ball because one hand can usually cause the shooter back to the floor or to loose the ball. IMO... |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Your Flipping Coin | irefky | Football | 14 | Tue Jun 06, 2006 04:41am |
Catcher flipping mask? | cas659 | Softball | 3 | Sun Jun 12, 2005 05:39pm |
flipping batting helmet off | justmom | Softball | 12 | Tue Apr 26, 2005 08:02pm |
Flipping For Choice Before EACH Match | FallCaller | Wrestling | 0 | Tue Dec 23, 2003 11:20am |
Tired of flipping pages...... | justacoach | Basketball | 11 | Fri Aug 01, 2003 08:08pm |