The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 05:18pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
9-8 states that "A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds." There is no team control or player control on a throw-in (4-12-6), so until the throw-in has ended there can be no player or team control. The count would start when player control is established after the throw-in ends.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 05:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Thanks guys. I figured that was the case, I just didn't want to ask a stupid question.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 06:22pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder
9-8 states that "A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds." There is no team control or player control on a throw-in (4-12-6), so until the throw-in has ended there can be no player or team control. The count would start when player control is established after the throw-in ends.
Yup. The throw-in ends when the ball is touched on the court. The 10-second count starts when the offensive team gains player control in their backcourt-i.e.a player is holding or dribbling the ball. There also might be a lapse of quite a few seconds between the end of the throw-in and the establishment of player control.

It always amazes me to see officials starting their backcourt count when the ball was touched but not controlled, and was still loose.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 08:41pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,559
Rookie Mistake

I hate to admit this, but I still remember a mistake I made over twenty-years ago in a junior varsity game. After a made free throw, I called a ten-second backcourt violation. The coach went nuts because only 8 seconds had ticked off the clock since the made free throw. I had to give him a technical foul, one of the few given throughout my career. In the car on our way home after the game, my partner and I discussed the play. We wondered if the timekeeper had started the clock too late, or if I had counted too fast. We finally figured out that because of a pressing defense, the inbounding team had taken four seconds to get the ball inbounds, and I had mistakenly carried over the four second count into my ten second count. I knew the correct rule, I just screwed it up. After the ball was inbounded, I only counted six more counts, in eight seconds, to call the violation. I called the athletic director the next day and asked her to apoligize to the coach for me. The next time I saw the coach, we both laughed about it.

Our local board interpreter now advises us to use two different arms to make these two counts so this mistake doesn't happen. If we make the five second count with our right arm, we switch over to our left arm for the ten second count. Our interpreter also advises us to switch arms as we change our five second closely guarded counts, from a dribbling count to a holding count or from a holding count to a dribbling count.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Our local board interpreter now advises us to use two different arms to make these two counts so this mistake doesn't happen. If we make the five second count with our right arm, we switch over to our left arm for the ten second count. Our interpreter also advises us to switch arms as we change our five second closely guarded counts, from a dribbling count to a holding count or from a holding count to a dribbling count.
How would this work in regards to chopping in the clock? Is the chop in "1"?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 09:00pm
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I would chop in when it is touched and then begin the 10 count when player control begins.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
I would chop in when it is touched and then begin the 10 count when player control begins.
Let's say, though, that there's no contesting of the throw in and player control begins as soon as A2 touches the ball (thrown by A1). Let's also assume that I'm administering the throw-in from the right side of the basket facing upcourt. So I'm on the outside of the shooter, whistle in mouth, my right hand up to signal the clock, and I hand A1 the ball with my left hand and begin the count with my left hand. As soon as A2 touches the ball and has control (again, we're assuming for this case that it's at the same time), I chop the clock in. Then should I use the same hand to do the 10-second count or should I use my other hand?

Sorry, I'm still brushing up on my mechanics.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 09:11pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
Let's say, though, that there's no contesting of the throw in and player control begins as soon as A2 touches the ball (thrown by A1). Let's also assume that I'm administering the throw-in from the right side of the basket facing upcourt. So I'm on the outside of the shooter, whistle in mouth, my right hand up to signal the clock, and I hand A1 the ball with my left hand and begin the count with my left hand. As soon as A2 touches the ball and has control (again, we're assuming for this case that it's at the same time), I chop the clock in. Then should I use the same hand to do the 10-second count or should I use my other hand?

Sorry, I'm still brushing up on my mechanics.
Personally, I do my 10-second count with the hand I chopped the clock.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Feb 12, 2007 at 11:04pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 13, 2007, 12:37am
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Our local board interpreter now advises us to use two different arms to make these two counts so this mistake doesn't happen. If we make the five second count with our right arm, we switch over to our left arm for the ten second count. Our interpreter also advises us to switch arms as we change our five second closely guarded counts, from a dribbling count to a holding count or from a holding count to a dribbling count.
Using different arms when switching from one count immediately to another was also a Fed mechanic clarification for the 04-05 season.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 13, 2007, 01:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
...and you end your count in the backcourt when ...?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 13, 2007, 02:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
I don't switch counts when I'm going from throw-in to 10 second count. I count my 10 second count with my outside arm. So sometimes I switch arms depending on where the throw-in is (determines what arm i'm counting with for throw-in) but I don't make sure it is switched.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 13, 2007, 08:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake~eyes
I don't switch counts when I'm going from throw-in to 10 second count. I count my 10 second count with my outside arm. So sometimes I switch arms depending on where the throw-in is (determines what arm i'm counting with for throw-in) but I don't make sure it is switched.
I do all of my throw-in counts in the backcourt or for a throw-in which might be passed into the backcourt with my arm that will be away from the table as I turn and face downcourt. This allows me to switch arms and make my 10-second count towards the table and the benches.

So if I am tableside Trail with the table on my left as I face the basket of the team with the ball, I would do the throw-in count with my right arm and then the 10-second count with my left arm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 13, 2007, 08:16am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
...and you end your count in the backcourt when ...?
Johnny, when do you end your 10-second count? (not being condescending). What do your instincts tell you?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 13, 2007, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 718
Was this veteran partner an old school kind of guy?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Right from the start tomegun Basketball 6 Mon Nov 06, 2006 10:09am
When to Start the Clock Ed Hickland Football 3 Thu Oct 21, 2004 08:52am
best position to start out. verticalStripes Football 15 Mon Oct 13, 2003 03:18pm
clock doesn't start Troward Basketball 7 Mon Feb 03, 2003 03:52pm
When does a timeout start? John Arduini Basketball 4 Tue Feb 13, 2001 11:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1