The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 13, 2007, 08:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 718
OK...Proving that I am not infallible , I have heard back from my assignor/interpretor. Pump fakes should not cause the three point count to suspend. Only an actual move to the basket should do that. Obviously, that also clears up my confusion regarding shooting fouls.

I humbly bow to you others who were right.
  #62 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 13, 2007, 08:58pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
OK...Proving that I am not infallible , I have heard back from my assignor/interpretor. Pump fakes should not cause the three point count to suspend. Only an actual move to the basket should do that. Obviously, that also clears up my confusion regarding shooting fouls.

I humbly bow to you others who were right.
So your assignor is always right then?
  #63 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 13, 2007, 09:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
So your assignor is always right then?
Can't be. It's my assignor that is always right, at least in my area. Actually I'm lucky to have an excellent assignor, but I just had to jump in on that one.
  #64 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 03:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
OK...Proving that I am not infallible , I have heard back from my assignor/interpretor. Pump fakes should not cause the three point count to suspend. Only an actual move to the basket should do that. Obviously, that also clears up my confusion regarding shooting fouls.

I humbly bow to you others who were right.
Glad that you finally came around. It is okay that we disagree with each other from time to time. It is often the stimulus for how we learn and improve.

We do however reserve the right to blast you with strange pictures of squirrels and other assorted items for your transgression.
  #65 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 08:37am
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Nope, the count does not get suspended, by rule, during loss of player control. As long as team control remains, the count continues. Feel free to ask a real official in your area; you know, the guys in stripes who have actually read the rule book.
Disagree, there is no team control during a loss or interrupted dribble. If players are scrapping for the ball, I'm not going to blow my whistle 3 seconds in the lane and he or a member of the offense doesn't have control of the ball.

Last edited by bob jenkins; Wed Feb 14, 2007 at 08:51am.
  #66 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
So your assignor is always right then?
You better believe it!!! Isn't that right sir?

Actually I have differnt assignors for each conference that I work. This one specifically is also an official rules interpretor for the OHSAA.

Quote:
Originally posted by Old School
Disagree, there is no team control during a loss or interrupted dribble.


Exactly where did you learn THAT piece of information????
  #67 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 08:59am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
Disagree, there is no team control during a loss or interrupted dribble.
You already know what to do? Yeah, right.

NFHS rule 4-12-2 --"A team is in control of the ball when a player of a team is in control, while a live ball is being passed among teammates and during an interrupted dribble".

NFHS rule 4-12-3- "Team control continues until:
(a) the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
(b) The opponents secure control.
(c)The ball becomes dead."

NFHS rule 4-12-4-- "While a ball remains live, a loose ball always remains in control of the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap for goal".

If you actually owned a rule book, you would have known that. It's a basic.


-Edited to remove the same comment that Bob J. removed....

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Feb 14, 2007 at 10:20am.
  #68 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 09:19am
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
This might work with rec league coaches, but I can virtually guarantee if you try this with a high school or college coach, you have at least an 82.5783468018% chance of moving to a technical foul within 3.7 seconds (not taking into account the time it takes tomegun to issue and retract his stop sign.)
That would be a bad guarantee. I have done this many of times with college coaches and the like and the results have always been the same. It ended the discussion and I didn't have to access a T. To me it is a unique and intelligent way to say, I'm done talking about this subject and we're going to move on. Now, in the rare case where we can't move on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The obvious answer to "Tell you what, you ref the game and I'll sit down and coach" is "I might as well, seeing the sh!tty job you're doing". And in Old School's case, the coach would probably be right.

Yup, never say nonsense like that to any coach outside of rec leagues. Even in rec leagues, it's not a good idea because you're just baiting the coach right back. Either deal with it or ignore it.
This type of response doesn't surprise me coming from you JR. You have that throw an official under the bus mentallity. Now tell me, how does it feel? Go ahead and share.

However, in the rare event that a coach was to make a statement like this. He's done for the day. Doesn't matter how many technicals he got. If he has zero T's for the day, he's still ejected. Remember, you don't have to give a coach 2 technical before he's ejected. In fact, if he was to say something like that to me. I would go into my old baseball umpire routine and give him the hee-hoe, you're out of here! mechanic. And yes, I do have a flare for the dramatic when you get stupid with me.

Peace
  #69 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 09:25am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School

1) This type of response doesn't surprise me coming from you JR. You have that throw an official under the bus mentallity. Now tell me, how does it feel? Go ahead and share.

2) However, in the rare event that a coach was to make a statement like this. He's done for the day.
1) Not applicable in your case. You're not an official.

2) Great idea. Bait the coach into saying something and then toss him when he does. Excellent advice for the aspiring rec league official. Warning: Not to be used elsewhere though.
  #70 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 09:31am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
Disagree, there is no team control during a loss or interrupted dribble. If players are scrapping for the ball, I'm not going to blow my whistle 3 seconds in the lane and he or a member of the offense doesn't have control of the ball.
I've made this call, and guess what, I have the rules to back me up. One of maybe 4 3-second calls I've made this season; probably the only one I've made this year above the middle school level.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #71 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 09:33am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
That would be a bad guarantee. I have done this many of times with college coaches and the like and the results have always been the same. It ended the discussion and I didn't have to access a T. To me it is a unique and intelligent way to say, I'm done talking about this subject and we're going to move on. Now, in the rare case where we can't move on.
First of all, it's not unique just because you haven't seen anyone else use it. It might just mean it's not effective. Second of all, just because you think it's witty doesn't mean it's intelligent. There's a difference, but when you grow up, you'll know that.

Thirdly, you misspelled intramural again.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #72 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 09:44am
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
I'm going to throw this out here and then I'm going to leave it at that. I have better things to do than to spend my day argueing with referees who like to throw other referees under the bus. If you want to call a 3-second lane violation during an interrupted dribble, that is you. Do what you think is right. I'm not going there. However, the rule also states.

"When a team secures control, that team remains in control until the ball is in flight...., or an opponent has secured control. This has an influenence on rules such as team control fouls, 3-seconds violations, and frontcourt/backcourt. No team (repeat JR), no team has control while the ball is dead, during a throw-in or jump, nor during the period following any of these acts when the ball is slapped away from other players in an attempt to secure control.
  #73 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
I'm going to throw this out here and then I'm going to leave it at that.
Thank you.

Quote:
However, the rule also states.

"When a team secures control, that team remains in control until the ball is in flight...., or an opponent has secured control. This has an influenence on rules such as team control fouls, 3-seconds violations, and frontcourt/backcourt. No team (repeat JR), no team has control while the ball is dead, during a throw-in or jump, nor during the period following any of these acts when the ball is slapped away from other players in an attempt to secure control.
Note the wordds "following any of these acts" where "these acts" refers to dead ball, thorw-in, or jump. It doesn't refer to "interrupted dribble" or "loose ball during team control"

In practice, I agree that three-seconds is rarely called during an interrupted dribble. But, by rule the count continues.
  #74 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 09:50am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
"When a team secures control, that team remains in control until the ball is in flight...., or an opponent has secured control. This has an influenence on rules such as team control fouls, 3-seconds violations, and frontcourt/backcourt. No team (repeat JR), no team has control while the ball is dead, during a throw-in or jump, nor during the period following any of these acts when the ball is slapped away from other players in an attempt to secure control.
Well, now that you've found a rule book, we need to work on your reading comprehension. It's a start.

Let's start with you first colorized statement. Team control continues; this influences rules such as three second violations. Guess what this means, three second counts continue as long as there is team control.

Now, your second colorized statement. Read what comes before it; "no team has control while the ball is dead, during a throwin or jump ball," it then continues to say, "nor during the period following any of these acts." This means, there is no team control following a throwin if players are still swatting at it trying to get it. It doesn't mean team control ends while players swat at the ball.

It's a valiant effort, but the rule book is apparently over your head.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #75 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 266
A 3-sec call during an interrupted dribble?

Wouldn't this, by some obscure definition somewhere, be labeled a "game interrupter?"

(sorry, couldn't help myself....!)
__________________
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asked for help on this play. nickrego Baseball 11 Tue Jul 18, 2006 02:05pm
can you believe coach asked me this Ref-X Basketball 25 Thu Feb 23, 2006 05:44pm
Probably, Already Been Asked? Time2Ref Basketball 4 Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:34pm
Happy Channukkah! Happy Kwanzaa! Jimgolf Basketball 3 Sun Dec 25, 2005 05:00pm
He asked for it! sir_eldren Hockey 10 Fri Jun 04, 2004 06:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1