The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 28, 2007, 08:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
My comments are in red.

I'm the 'R' and U1 has to call my first 2 tosses back b/c I out-tossed the 6'7" & 6'5" jumpers and they completely miss the ball both times.(Why did your U1 call back either toss? Unless the ball strikes the floor without either jumper touching it, it is a legal toss and the game should continue. Ugly does not equate to illegal.)
If both players "completely miss the ball" then why would you doubt the ball "strikes the floor without either jumper touching it"?

Is this yet another type of 3rd world play I'm not getting?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 28, 2007, 08:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,017
Because I've seen it many times where the two jumpers initially miss the ball, but are able to hit it on a second swipe after returning to the floor and prior to the ball striking the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 28, 2007, 08:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Because I've seen it many times where the two jumpers initially miss the ball, but are able to hit it on a second swipe after returning to the floor and prior to the ball striking the floor.
Oh, why didn't I think of that?

Let's go back and look...

Quote:
I'm the 'R' and U1 has to call my first 2 tosses back b/c I out-tossed the 6'7" & 6'5" jumpers and they completely miss the ball both times
Oh yeah, that's why.

Any other 3rd world explanations you need to pull out of yerazz?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 01:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Because I've seen it many times where the two jumpers initially miss the ball, but are able to hit it on a second swipe after returning to the floor and prior to the ball striking the floor.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Oh, why didn't I think of that?

Let's go back and look...


Quote:
I'm the 'R' and U1 has to call my first 2 tosses back b/c I out-tossed the 6'7" & 6'5" jumpers and they completely miss the ball both times


Oh yeah, that's why.

Any other 3rd world explanations you need to pull out of yerazz?
I'm still of the belief that the toss was legal. He had TWO different tosses, which his U1 called back because the jumpers missed the ball when they jumped up for the tap. Perhaps the U1 didn't even wait to see if they might hit it after landing.
I'd like BadNews to clarify. There are many officials who don't understand this properly.

My U1 did it to me on Friday night. A1 and B1 both swung and missed when going after the ball near its apex, but A1 hit it when it was at chest level.
Since we now had an IW, without team control or the AP arrow established, I did the only thing that I could. I tossed it again.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 08:10am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Because I've seen it many times where the two jumpers initially miss the ball, but are able to hit it on a second swipe after returning to the floor and prior to the ball striking the floor.





I'm still of the belief that the toss was legal. He had TWO different tosses, which his U1 called back because the jumpers missed the ball when they jumped up for the tap. Perhaps the U1 didn't even wait to see if they might hit it after landing.
I'd like BadNews to clarify. There are many officials who don't understand this properly.

My U1 did it to me on Friday night. A1 and B1 both swung and missed when going after the ball near its apex, but A1 hit it when it was at chest level.
Since we now had an IW, without team control or the AP arrow established, I did the only thing that I could. I tossed it again.
Nevada, I see you are trying to show off your HTML skills.

Let me clarify the situation:
  • 1st jump: Both jumpers missed the ball at its apex and then the ball hit hit both jumpers and landed in the circle.
  • 2nd jump: Both jumpers missed the ball at its apex and this time the ball came down to earth without contacting either jumper.

But, IREFU2 was the U2 for this scenario, maybe he can jump in and give a better or more accurate description. I could be missing something.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Jan 29, 2007 at 08:21am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 08:35am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Let me clarify the situation:
  • 1st jump: Both jumpers missed the ball at its apex and then the ball hit hit both jumpers and landed in the circle.
  • 2nd jump: Both jumpers missed the ball at its apex and this time the ball came down to earth without contacting either jumper.

I could be missing something.
No, you're not missing a damn thing and you know it.

The ball has to be touched BY one of the jumpers in order to have a legal jump. Rule 6-3-6. If the ball just touches one of the jumper's body instead, then it's not a legal jump. Your original post very clearly said anyway that both jumpers missed the ball both times. You and your partner were completely right, by rule, to re-jump both times.

Lah me, Nevada, I know you were trying to make a point re: what constitutes a legal jump, but you sureasheck are going about it the wrong way. You shoulda thrown in a "what if" to make your point. News and his partner had the right call both times.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Jan 29, 2007 at 08:37am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 04:42pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Rule 6-3-6. If the ball just touches one of the jumper's body instead, then it's not a legal jump.
What part of 6-3-6, or 6-3-anything does this violate?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Nevada, I see you are trying to show off your HTML skills.

Let me clarify the situation:
  • 1st jump: Both jumpers missed the ball at its apex and then the ball hit hit both jumpers and landed in the circle.
  • 2nd jump: Both jumpers missed the ball at its apex and this time the ball came down to earth without contacting either jumper.

But, IREFU2 was the U2 for this scenario, maybe he can jump in and give a better or more accurate description. I could be missing something.
Both Jumpers just missed the ball and the U1 blew it back for a rejump. Both kid were extremely tall and should have gotten the tip with no problem. It was a great toss!!!!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Because I've seen it many times where the two jumpers initially miss the ball, but are able to hit it on a second swipe after returning to the floor and prior to the ball striking the floor.





I'm still of the belief that the toss was legal. He had TWO different tosses, which his U1 called back because the jumpers missed the ball when they jumped up for the tap. Perhaps the U1 didn't even wait to see if they might hit it after landing.
...and perhaps the gym floor opened up and swallowed the jumpers before either had a chance to touch the jump.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Mechanics, NFHS Rules/Mechanics InvisibleRef Basketball 4 Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06am
USA Basketball Rules & Mechanics Luis Basketball 5 Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:16am
Rules or Mechanics? Andy Softball 6 Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:01am
nba rules/ officials mechanics jr Basketball 10 Tue Apr 19, 2005 08:00am
College Rules/Mechanics Differences-HELP GRTONY Basketball 2 Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1