The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 28, 2007, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
My comments are in red.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
It had been a quiet HS/JuCo season so far with no unusual situations, then the last 2 nights I get this:

Game 1:
  • In warmups 1 player has on red headband matching his team's uniform color, but all other teammates with headbands are wearing white (Simply make the team make a choice. They wear one, but not both colors.)
  • I'm U2 responsible for V team and I count 14 players (it was hard, trust me). Later 'R' comes back from table says we almost had a problem b/c V only had 13 names in the book. Whoever copied the names in the book completely skipped a player(Help your R understand the rules properly and inform him that it does not matter what was copied into the book, but rather what the team supplied to the scorer.)
Game 2:
  • I'm the 'R' and U1 has to call my first 2 tosses back b/c I out-tossed the 6'7" & 6'5" jumpers and they completely miss the ball both times.(Why did your U1 call back either toss? Unless the ball strikes the floor without either jumper touching it, it is a legal toss and the game should continue. Ugly does not equate to illegal.)
  • As I'm waiting to start the 2nd quarter, crew member from the game prior to mine points out that one of the players is wearing a frayed cut-off undershirt. I let my partner know and he goes to inform the coach. But I was happy to see the player immediately run back to the locker room.(While the previous game official is correct, he should not say anything to you as he is not part of this game. It is your crew's job to notice this and take care of it.)
  • We may or may not have screwed up a possession arrow (I still don't think we did). But I have a coach who is telling me that it's a correctable error and that we should wipe out the subsequent basket and foul
  • Partner has an unruly fan directly behind bench. My partner DOES NOT GIVE HIM THE STARE. Partner notifies game admin who have the Sherriff's deputy escort out the offender.(An official out here told a fan to "Sit down and shut up" during a game yesterday! The whole gym heard him say it. I wonder what some people would think of that.)
  • I receive my first ever police escort after a game
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 28, 2007, 08:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
BadNwsRef, good thing NVRef was around. I'm sure you didn't know what to do in any of those situations.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 28, 2007, 08:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
BadNwsRef, good thing NVRef was around. I'm sure you didn't know what to do in any of those situations.
Shut up.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 28, 2007, 08:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
My comments are in red.

I'm the 'R' and U1 has to call my first 2 tosses back b/c I out-tossed the 6'7" & 6'5" jumpers and they completely miss the ball both times.(Why did your U1 call back either toss? Unless the ball strikes the floor without either jumper touching it, it is a legal toss and the game should continue. Ugly does not equate to illegal.)
If both players "completely miss the ball" then why would you doubt the ball "strikes the floor without either jumper touching it"?

Is this yet another type of 3rd world play I'm not getting?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 28, 2007, 08:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Because I've seen it many times where the two jumpers initially miss the ball, but are able to hit it on a second swipe after returning to the floor and prior to the ball striking the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 28, 2007, 08:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Because I've seen it many times where the two jumpers initially miss the ball, but are able to hit it on a second swipe after returning to the floor and prior to the ball striking the floor.
Oh, why didn't I think of that?

Let's go back and look...

Quote:
I'm the 'R' and U1 has to call my first 2 tosses back b/c I out-tossed the 6'7" & 6'5" jumpers and they completely miss the ball both times
Oh yeah, that's why.

Any other 3rd world explanations you need to pull out of yerazz?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 01:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Because I've seen it many times where the two jumpers initially miss the ball, but are able to hit it on a second swipe after returning to the floor and prior to the ball striking the floor.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Oh, why didn't I think of that?

Let's go back and look...


Quote:
I'm the 'R' and U1 has to call my first 2 tosses back b/c I out-tossed the 6'7" & 6'5" jumpers and they completely miss the ball both times


Oh yeah, that's why.

Any other 3rd world explanations you need to pull out of yerazz?
I'm still of the belief that the toss was legal. He had TWO different tosses, which his U1 called back because the jumpers missed the ball when they jumped up for the tap. Perhaps the U1 didn't even wait to see if they might hit it after landing.
I'd like BadNews to clarify. There are many officials who don't understand this properly.

My U1 did it to me on Friday night. A1 and B1 both swung and missed when going after the ball near its apex, but A1 hit it when it was at chest level.
Since we now had an IW, without team control or the AP arrow established, I did the only thing that I could. I tossed it again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 08:10am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Because I've seen it many times where the two jumpers initially miss the ball, but are able to hit it on a second swipe after returning to the floor and prior to the ball striking the floor.





I'm still of the belief that the toss was legal. He had TWO different tosses, which his U1 called back because the jumpers missed the ball when they jumped up for the tap. Perhaps the U1 didn't even wait to see if they might hit it after landing.
I'd like BadNews to clarify. There are many officials who don't understand this properly.

My U1 did it to me on Friday night. A1 and B1 both swung and missed when going after the ball near its apex, but A1 hit it when it was at chest level.
Since we now had an IW, without team control or the AP arrow established, I did the only thing that I could. I tossed it again.
Nevada, I see you are trying to show off your HTML skills.

Let me clarify the situation:
  • 1st jump: Both jumpers missed the ball at its apex and then the ball hit hit both jumpers and landed in the circle.
  • 2nd jump: Both jumpers missed the ball at its apex and this time the ball came down to earth without contacting either jumper.

But, IREFU2 was the U2 for this scenario, maybe he can jump in and give a better or more accurate description. I could be missing something.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Jan 29, 2007 at 08:21am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 08:35am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Let me clarify the situation:
  • 1st jump: Both jumpers missed the ball at its apex and then the ball hit hit both jumpers and landed in the circle.
  • 2nd jump: Both jumpers missed the ball at its apex and this time the ball came down to earth without contacting either jumper.

I could be missing something.
No, you're not missing a damn thing and you know it.

The ball has to be touched BY one of the jumpers in order to have a legal jump. Rule 6-3-6. If the ball just touches one of the jumper's body instead, then it's not a legal jump. Your original post very clearly said anyway that both jumpers missed the ball both times. You and your partner were completely right, by rule, to re-jump both times.

Lah me, Nevada, I know you were trying to make a point re: what constitutes a legal jump, but you sureasheck are going about it the wrong way. You shoulda thrown in a "what if" to make your point. News and his partner had the right call both times.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Jan 29, 2007 at 08:37am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Nevada, I see you are trying to show off your HTML skills.

Let me clarify the situation:
  • 1st jump: Both jumpers missed the ball at its apex and then the ball hit hit both jumpers and landed in the circle.
  • 2nd jump: Both jumpers missed the ball at its apex and this time the ball came down to earth without contacting either jumper.

But, IREFU2 was the U2 for this scenario, maybe he can jump in and give a better or more accurate description. I could be missing something.
Both Jumpers just missed the ball and the U1 blew it back for a rejump. Both kid were extremely tall and should have gotten the tip with no problem. It was a great toss!!!!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Because I've seen it many times where the two jumpers initially miss the ball, but are able to hit it on a second swipe after returning to the floor and prior to the ball striking the floor.





I'm still of the belief that the toss was legal. He had TWO different tosses, which his U1 called back because the jumpers missed the ball when they jumped up for the tap. Perhaps the U1 didn't even wait to see if they might hit it after landing.
...and perhaps the gym floor opened up and swallowed the jumpers before either had a chance to touch the jump.

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 12:47am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
My comments are in red.
Nevada, I wasn't posting b/c we didn't know how to handle each situation. Just that it was weird to me that these thing happened to me for the first time this season all within a 24-hour period.

The cut-off undershirt I feel embarassed about b/c I had noticed sometime was funny about the kid's uniform but it just didn't register in my brain what was wrong.

As far as the missing name from the scorebook, the 'R' discovered the problem during his pre-game conference with the table and had the problem corrected on the spot. Nevada, are you saying that the 'R' should have administered a T? (just curious)
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 01:18am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
NevadaAs far as the missing name from the scorebook, the 'R' discovered the problem during his pre-game conference with the table and had the problem corrected on the spot. Nevada, are you saying that the 'R' should have administered a T? (just curious)
No, I think he was concerned by the R saying you almost had a problem. Nevada, I think, is indicating that the visitors had done their part and a T wouldn't have been called for because the visitors had supplied the book on time.
That said, taking care of it early (like your R did) prevents a problem; because even if you don't call a T in the end, you've still got a delayed game while the whole mess gets sorted out once V13 comes into the game.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 01:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
No, I think he was concerned by the R saying you almost had a problem. Nevada, I think, is indicating that the visitors had done their part and a T wouldn't have been called for because the visitors had supplied the book on time.
That said, taking care of it early (like your R did) prevents a problem; because even if you don't call a T in the end, you've still got a delayed game while the whole mess gets sorted out once V13 comes into the game.
That is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 01:35am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
No, I think he was concerned by the R saying you almost had a problem. Nevada, I think, is indicating that the visitors had done their part and a T wouldn't have been called for because the visitors had supplied the book on time.
That said, taking care of it early (like your R did) prevents a problem; because even if you don't call a T in the end, you've still got a delayed game while the whole mess gets sorted out once V13 comes into the game.
OK Snaq, I see what you are saying. I was just trying to understand why Nevada felt I needed to educate my 'R' on anything.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Mechanics, NFHS Rules/Mechanics InvisibleRef Basketball 4 Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06am
USA Basketball Rules & Mechanics Luis Basketball 5 Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:16am
Rules or Mechanics? Andy Softball 6 Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:01am
nba rules/ officials mechanics jr Basketball 10 Tue Apr 19, 2005 08:00am
College Rules/Mechanics Differences-HELP GRTONY Basketball 2 Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1