![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
I'd like BadNews to clarify. There are many officials who don't understand this properly. My U1 did it to me on Friday night. A1 and B1 both swung and missed when going after the ball near its apex, but A1 hit it when it was at chest level. Since we now had an IW, without team control or the AP arrow established, I did the only thing that I could. I tossed it again. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Let me clarify the situation:
But, IREFU2 was the U2 for this scenario, maybe he can jump in and give a better or more accurate description. I could be missing something.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Mon Jan 29, 2007 at 08:21am. |
|
|||
Quote:
The ball has to be touched BY one of the jumpers in order to have a legal jump. Rule 6-3-6. If the ball just touches one of the jumper's body instead, then it's not a legal jump. Your original post very clearly said anyway that both jumpers missed the ball both times. You and your partner were completely right, by rule, to re-jump both times. Lah me, Nevada, I know you were trying to make a point re: what constitutes a legal jump, but you sureasheck are going about it the wrong way. You shoulda thrown in a "what if" to make your point. News and his partner had the right call both times. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Jan 29, 2007 at 08:37am. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Score the Basket!!!! ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Score the Basket!!!! ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
||||
Quote:
Quote:
JR is completely correct. He is making the point that the rule says the jumper must touch the ball for the jump to be legal. This is a positive action by the player. It is not enough for the ball to contact the jumper. That would be a passive action by the player. If the NFHS had wanted the second case to be legal, they would have written "touching or being touched by" as is the case in 4-42-5. I agree with his point, but still stand by mine that many officials misunderstand this requirement. They wrongly believe that one of the jumpers must contact the ball cleanly when they go up for it. Quote:
Quote:
Lah you. ![]() Last edited by Nevadaref; Mon Jan 29, 2007 at 05:42pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
So let me get this straight.
Nevada makes a what if post...3rd world play if you prefer...and that is more troublesome, disrupts the thread and forum more so, than the constant "Shut ups," rodents with large sacks, grammar police and all the other non-basketball related nonsense that goes on? Time to look in the mirror and self-police yourselves for a change, gotta love the hypocrisy. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Iffen you don't like it, don't read it. Simple as that. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Yes, Nevada, let's go back.... News wrote-- "I'm the 'R' and U1 has to call my first 2 tosses back b/c I out-tossed the the 6'7" and 6'5" jumpers and they completely missed the ball both times." You wrote-- "Why did your U1 call back either toss? Unless the ball strikes the floor without either jumper touching it, it is a legal toss and the game should continue." Stevie Wonder could see what was wrong with your statement. News said that both jumpers missed the ball, so they had to re-toss. You basically then also said that if the jumpers didn't touch the ball, it should be re-tossed too. All you did was mimic News. You agreed with him. Why try to "tsk, tsk" him then? That makes no sense. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA Mechanics, NFHS Rules/Mechanics | InvisibleRef | Basketball | 4 | Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06am |
USA Basketball Rules & Mechanics | Luis | Basketball | 5 | Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:16am |
Rules or Mechanics? | Andy | Softball | 6 | Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:01am |
nba rules/ officials mechanics | jr | Basketball | 10 | Tue Apr 19, 2005 08:00am |
College Rules/Mechanics Differences-HELP | GRTONY | Basketball | 2 | Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:30am |