![]() |
|
|
|||
Did A1 have to gather himself because of the bump or as the act of jumping and catching the pass? (I deduced that he jumped since B1 jumped.)
However, if as you state , A1 was fully able to gether himself, it reads as if the travel and potentially missed call had nothing to do with each other.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Basketball fundamentals say "contact is not always a foul".
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun "Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Look, if it was stated that the travel was a completely separate event from the bump, then they have to be treated as two separate events. If the bump was over and done, and you judged it a no call to play on, great. Forget it, it's done. It should NOT have any bearing on whether you call a travel for A1's next move. If you would have called A1's move a travel 5 minutes ago, it's a travel now. You said yourself it wasn't caused by the contact. Anyone who says ignore the travel because you ignored the contact is encouraging you to be an inconsistent official. That just doesn't make sense. And you don't owe the coach an explanation for every single call or no call in the game. I may have just told him, "No advantage!"
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots. |
|
|||
Ok...I'm sorry it wasn't clear....I DID call a travel. At that point, in my opinion, the bump and the travel were two different episodes. That is why the coach asked me if I saw the bump. Yes, I did, but the player didn't, in my opinion, at the time, lose any advantage. He was able to settle, then made a turn to the basket. Then he travelled.
I would have hated to stop the play for contact, when the player had a good opportunity to put the ball in the basket from the low post. I guess my concern was how do I legitimize to the coach that I passed on the contact, because I thought he did have a good opportunity to score. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
more patient? | chrs_schuster | Basketball | 31 | Mon Jan 01, 2007 03:40am |
Patient Whistle | jforgues | Basketball | 42 | Fri Jul 22, 2005 01:46pm |
Patient Whistle | FrankHtown | Basketball | 22 | Fri Dec 10, 2004 12:16pm |
Patient Whistle | FrankHtown | Basketball | 8 | Tue Jul 27, 2004 03:44pm |