The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 01:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tahlequah, OK
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teigan
I worked a game the other night and we had this scenario. Player was driving to the basket, and got a bump. My partner who was trail called the push...The player dribbling the ball continued his drive, just for the fun of it i guess........He went up for his layup, and got a body check type of thing. It was not "unsporting, flagrant, or intentional" but it was enough that it needed to be called. So I blew it. This whole little scenario maybe was done in a total of 6 seconds. We both reported the foul, and gave the ball back to the offended team. I was wondering did we do this correctly, and is there any rule interpretations that someone could provide.
It sounds like the "body check" (as you described it) definitely came after your partner called the push. If this is the case, you cannot call the second foul unless it is intentional or flagrant. The first foul caused the ball to become dead, so any contact afterward should be ignored unless it is intentional or flagrant. If you rule that it is intentional or flagrant, you should call a technical foul for dead-ball contact (10-3-8).

Case book play 10.3.8 deals with a similar situation. Note that in your situation, this would be a false multiple-foul rather than a false double-foul if you penalize the dead-ball contact, since it only involves fouls by one team:
"SITUATION: B1 fouls A1 during an unsuccessful try. While the calling official is reporting the foul, A1 pushes B1 into another player.
RULING: Intentional contact while the ball is dead constitutes an intentional technical foul. If other dead-ball contact is not intentional or flagrant, it should be ignored. The foul by A1 creates a false double-foul situation."

Last edited by lorenj; Thu Jan 04, 2007 at 01:42am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MNF: Did I hear that correctly? OverAndBack Football 7 Tue Oct 11, 2005 02:11am
Don't think i handled this correctly but.... largeone59 Baseball 5 Fri Jul 01, 2005 10:21pm
Nitpickin' the Details Correctly rainmaker Basketball 20 Mon Feb 16, 2004 05:47pm
Now I am wondering if I called it correctly. RecRef Basketball 11 Sun Jan 25, 2004 01:47pm
Corrected correctly Hawks Coach Basketball 3 Mon Apr 28, 2003 06:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1