The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2006, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Fans on sideline is touched with ball

Help with this. Has not happened yet, but will in the future.
Fan walking up sideline in small gym. Half on the court and half off. A1 dribbling the ball up the court. Ball hits fan that is touching 1/2 on & off the playable court. Is ball OOB? And if yes, then does B get the ball? I don't have my book today, please give ruling number. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2006, 10:42am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
The ball is OOB as per rule 7-1-2(b). It sounds like the the fan interfered with play. If so, give team A the ball back for a throw-in. Use case book play 7.1.2SitB(a) as a guideline. Almost the same situation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2006, 11:07am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Thumbs down

Don't forget to toss the fan.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2006, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The ball is OOB as per rule 7-1-2(b). It sounds like the the fan interfered with play. If so, give team A the ball back for a throw-in. Use case book play 7.1.2SitB(a) as a guideline. Almost the same situation.
This was a hypothetical situation, not a real one. I'm surprised you assumed the fan deliberately interfered with no evidence other than walking half on and off court. I've been in gyms where it's almost impossible to get back to your seat without walking along the sideline.

7-1-2(b) just says the ball is OOB, presumably off of A1 who was dribbling. A1 should watch where he/she is dribbling.
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.

Last edited by Jimgolf; Fri Dec 29, 2006 at 12:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2006, 01:40pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
This was a hypothetical situation, not a real one. I'm surprised you assumed the fan deliberately interfered with no evidence other than walking half on and off court. I've been in gyms where it's almost impossible to get back to your seat without walking along the sideline.

7-1-2(b) just says the ball is OOB, presumably off of A1 who was dribbling. A1 should watch where he/she is dribbling.
Are you saying that you would give team B the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2006, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Are you saying that you would give team B the ball?
I'm going to have to review the case book citation you mentioned. But that was my interpretation of the rule. A1 caused the ball to go out of bounds. Sort of like Jeffrey Meyers. Home run or fan interference?
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2006, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The ball is OOB as per rule 7-1-2(b). It sounds like the the fan interfered with play. If so, give team A the ball back for a throw-in. Use case book play 7.1.2SitB(a) as a guideline. Almost the same situation.
7-1-2 . . . The ball is out of bounds when it touches or is touched by:
a. A player who is out of bounds.
b. Any other person, the floor, or any object on or outside a boundary.

I agree with JR. Whether the fan interference is deliberate or not doesn't matter. The fact that the fan is partially in the court does. The fan shouldn't be there, but sometimes circumstances dictate otherwise. Therefore, instead of a strict enforcement of 7-1-2, which was not intended to cover this situation, use 2-3 to stop play and give Team A a throw-in.

Now if the fan were completely OOB, then I would simply follow 7-1-2.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2006, 05:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The ball is OOB as per rule 7-1-2(b). It sounds like the the fan interfered with play. If so, give team A the ball back for a throw-in. Use case book play 7.1.2SitB(a) as a guideline. Almost the same situation.
This case is talking about hitting a player in the game (B1). A fan is not a player. The ball is out of bounds, and A1 caused it to be out of bounds. Who gets the ball?
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2006, 06:57pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
This case is talking about hitting a player in the game (B1). A fan is not a player. The ball is out of bounds, and A1 caused it to be out of bounds. Who gets the ball?
How did A1 cause the ball to OOB if he was dribbling it in-bounds? The fan caused the ball to go OOB by interfering with the play. Whether that interference was deliberate or not has no bearing on the play either.

There is no wayinhell you can logically charge A1 with a violation under R9-3-1. Again, the fan caused the ball to go OOB, not A1.

If the fan came 4 feet onto the floor and knocked the ball OOB, would you call a violation on A1 too?

Just give the ball back to team A.

Lah me......
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2006, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If the fan came 4 feet onto the floor and knocked the ball OOB, would you call a violation on A1 too?

Lah me......
Great example.

Of course, some fool is going to tell you not to charge the team associated with this supporter with a technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 30, 2006, 12:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
How did A1 cause the ball to OOB if he was dribbling it in-bounds? The fan caused the ball to go OOB by interfering with the play. Whether that interference was deliberate or not has no bearing on the play either.

There is no wayinhell you can logically charge A1 with a violation under R9-3-1. Again, the fan caused the ball to go OOB, not A1.

If the fan came 4 feet onto the floor and knocked the ball OOB, would you call a violation on A1 too?

Just give the ball back to team A.

Lah me......
If you want to make things up, then fine. The rules you cited say otherwise and the case you cited has nothing to do with the play. BTW the fan who is straddling the line is technically OOB, not inbounds. So by hitting the fan, he is dribbling it OOB. I also can't follow why you are saying that the fan hit the ball when the OP says the ball hit the fan.

Unless you've got a better rule citation than the ones you've given, then you have to give the ball to B.
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 30, 2006, 07:29am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Unless you've got a better rule citation than the ones you've given, then you have to give the ball to B.
Jim, I'd cut my own nuts off before I'd give the ball to team B in this situation.

The ball would not have gone OOB except for the fan interference. You don't penalize a team for fan interference either. Well..... I thought that you don't. Apparently, I was wrong. There's at least one official that would.

Unbelievable.......
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2006, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kycat1
Help with this. Has not happened yet, but will in the future.
Fan walking up sideline in small gym. Half on the court and half off. A1 dribbling the ball up the court. Ball hits fan that is touching 1/2 on & off the playable court. Is ball OOB? And if yes, then does B get the ball? I don't have my book today, please give ruling number. Thanks
I've reffed in gyms where there was only room for fans to stand/sit 1 deep against the wall, and could conceivably see this very thing happening. Personally, I'm letting play continue, and if the ball hitting the fan causes interference with the play, I'm giving it back to team A.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2006, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
I've reffed in gyms where there was only room for fans to stand/sit 1 deep against the wall, and could conceivably see this very thing happening. Personally, I'm letting play continue, and if the ball hitting the fan causes interference with the play, I'm giving it back to team A.

What? A fan touches the ball and you have a "play on?" Come on...are you really serious?
__________________
Every game is a big game
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2006, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodwillRef
What? A fan touches the ball and you have a "play on?" Come on...are you really serious?
In the gym's I'm talking about, I'm totally serious. And the OP didn't say that the fan touched the ball, it said the ball hit the fan.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fans on sideline cloverdale Basketball 11 Fri Oct 27, 2006 01:02am
Not sure if this was touched on.. cowbyfan1 Baseball 1 Thu May 12, 2005 11:46am
Player outside of sideline when ball served. GregAlan Volleyball 6 Mon May 17, 2004 05:39pm
Touched live ball... blueump Baseball 3 Tue May 04, 2004 01:47pm
Live ball touched by coach zebraman Basketball 17 Thu Nov 20, 2003 02:24am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1