The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 17, 2006, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 359
Same as Scrapper saw it. NO Violation! It was a made basket, and they have the privilege of using the entire endline. The call was "kicked"! On a spot throw-in, as soon as A2 steps out of bounds, it became a violation. Can't remember the specific rule (JR may post now), but two players simultaneously out-of-bounds during a spot throw-in constitutes a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
Can't remember the specific rule (JR may post now), but two players simultaneously out-of-bounds during a spot throw-in constitutes a violation.
Rule 7-5-7 states- "the team not credited with the goal shall make the throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line". It also says "Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammmate(s) outside the boundary line".
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
obviously the last time the calling official read a rule book was many years ago.
At one time - that was the signal (rotating hands over each otheras in traveling) for leaving the spot on a designated throw in.
However leaving the designated spot does not apply in this situation since this was after a made basket the inbounding team was entitled to move along the baseline OOB and pass - so by rule there was no violation
So not only did the official blow the call - he blew the signal for the call he made.
I can not imagine what we could call that.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 12:49pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
At one time - that was the signal (rotating hands over each otheras in traveling) for leaving the spot on a designated throw in.
There never was an approved signal for a spot violation like that in NFHS or NCAA that I know of. Sure it wasn't a local thang?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
Can't remember the specific rule (JR may post now), but two players simultaneously out-of-bounds during a spot throw-in constitutes a violation.
Either Padgett or I called this this weekend, and the coach yells sarcastically, "Thanks for the warning". As I went past him a play or two later, same coach asked, "How were the players supposed to know about that rule?" I said, "It's in the rule book, aren't you using the Fed rulebook that the league gave you?" Parents looked at him curiously.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Travel? Dan_ref Basketball 25 Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:56am
Travel or Not?? ref18 Basketball 2 Wed Jan 21, 2004 08:50pm
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm
Travel or not williebfree Basketball 1 Mon Jan 13, 2003 12:54am
Travel or not? Bchill24 Basketball 6 Fri Nov 08, 2002 07:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1