The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 04:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Good grief, rule 9-2-10 is perfectly clear. “No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass.” How much clearer can it be? Maybe the Fed meant this to only apply to members of the thrower’s team; but we don’t know this. Until they clarify otherwise (I would even take a case play) I have to apply this as written. Original spot, as it’s a throwin violation on the defense.
As such, if it happens during an AP throwin; the arrow stays put.
As some of us have said Fed 7-6-1 states just as clearly "The throw-in pass shall touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) before going out of bounds untouched..."
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 04:16pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
As some of us have said Fed 7-6-1 states just as clearly "The throw-in pass shall touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) before going out of bounds untouched..."
I understand that, but I don't understand why that is relevant to our conversation. The person making the throw-in has not violated, because he/she has met the conditions of 7-6-1. That's not even an issue.

But the person who catches the throw-in while out of bounds HAS committed a violation per 9-2-10 (NOT per 7-2-1, since the ball was never inbounds). The penalty for that infraction is a throw-in from the previous throw-in spot.

If someone thinks that the PENALTY section for 9-2 is mis-printed, fine. But there's no possible way to dispute the infraction that has occured, in my mind. 7-6-1 doesn't apply to our situation. 7-2-1 doesn't apply to our situation. The only infraction that has occured is 9-2-10. That's JMO, of course. But I think those of you on the other side are stretching things way too thin.
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I understand that, but I don't understand why that is relevant to our conversation. The person making the throw-in has not violated, because he/she has met the conditions of 7-6-1. That's not even an issue.

But the person who catches the throw-in while out of bounds HAS committed a violation per 9-2-10 (NOT per 7-2-1, since the ball was never inbounds). The penalty for that infraction is a throw-in from the previous throw-in spot.
errrr....wha?

Even though 7-6-1 says in black & white that the throw-in is legal if any player touches the ball anywhere after the throw-in you think it only applies to the person actually throwing the ball in? And that somehow 9-2-10 is the real rule we need to consult to understand the big picture?

You think that? Really?? You really think 7-6 relates solely to the guy throwing the ball in? Even though sprinkled liberally thoughout 7-6 are references to other players on both teams?

I think they f'ed it up and have 2 rules that clearly say 2 very different things. Period. And no one's opinion is valid on which rule to follow until they get it un-f'ed up and publish a change.

I would say 2-3 applies but it doesn't. They need to revise 2-3 to include the case where they f'ed it up and anyone's guess is as good as the next guy's.

Last edited by Dan_ref; Thu Dec 14, 2006 at 04:43pm.
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 04:51pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I understand that, but I don't understand why that is relevant to our conversation. The person making the throw-in has not violated, because he/she has met the conditions of 7-6-1. That's not even an issue.

But the person who catches the throw-in while out of bounds HAS committed a violation per 9-2-10 (NOT per 7-2-1, since the ball was never inbounds). The penalty for that infraction is a throw-in from the previous throw-in spot.

If someone thinks that the PENALTY section for 9-2 is mis-printed, fine. But there's no possible way to dispute the infraction that has occured, in my mind. 7-6-1 doesn't apply to our situation. 7-2-1 doesn't apply to our situation. The only infraction that has occured is 9-2-10. That's JMO, of course. But I think those of you on the other side are stretching things way too thin.
You are truly wise beyond your years.
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You are truly wise beyond your years.
He's also wrong, but that's another article for Juulie to write.
  #51 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 04:55pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
He's also wrong, but that's another article for Juulie to write.
Well, that shouldn't bother ol' Scrappy one bit. Nobody will read that article anyway.
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Well, that shouldn't bother ol' Scrappy one bit. Nobody will read that article anyway.
yeahbut I can't wait for it to come out on DVD!
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 05:29pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Even though 7-6-1 says in black & white that the throw-in is legal if any player touches the ball anywhere after the throw-in you think it only applies to the person actually throwing the ball in?

You think that? Really??
Here's what I know. And it's really all I know, pertaining to this play. Not what I think. This is what I know:

The throw-in pass shall touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. That happened. So the inbounder did not violate. That much I know. (I don't know about anybody else mentioned in 7-6-1 yet.)

No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass. But someone WAS out of bounds when he/she touched the throw-in pass. So that someone violated. That much I know. (I don't know if it was the inbounder's teammate or opponent; but that also doesn't matter.)

The penalty for the violation that I know occured is a designated spot throw-in at the spot of the previous throw-in. That much I know.
  #54 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 05:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Here's what I know. And it's really all I know, pertaining to this play. Not what I think. This is what I know:

The throw-in pass shall touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. That happened. So the inbounder did not violate. That much I know. (I don't know about anybody else mentioned in 7-6-1 yet.)

No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass. But someone WAS out of bounds when he/she touched the throw-in pass. So that someone violated. That much I know. (I don't know if it was the inbounder's teammate or opponent; but that also doesn't matter.)
The penalty for the violation that I know occured is a designated spot throw-in at the spot of the previous throw-in. That much I know.
OK. Let me play this back so we all understand what you are saying.

It doesn't matter if the player who was OOB when he was first to touch the throw-in was a team mate or an opponent. It's just a throw-in violation by rule. And we all know on a violation the *other* team gets the ball. So if B1 touches the ball OOB on a throw-in by A1 team B gets the ball at the original spot.

That's your claim?

Care to defend how an opponent can cause the other team to violate the throw-in? And then cause the player who violated to gain control for *his* team?
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 05:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
The rule doesn’t specify which team can’t do it. When B1 touches the ball with his foot on the line during the throwin, by this rule, he has committed a defensive throw-in violation. The rule that is violated is 9-2-10.
No one is claiming it’s a violation by the thrower; it’s not. It’s a violation, by the receiver, of rule 9-2-10. Therefore, A gets a new throwin, at the original spot (based on rule 9-2-10.) Rule 7-6 hasn’t been violated, so the penalties there aren’t applicable.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #56 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 06:08pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Care to defend how an opponent can cause the other team to violate the throw-in?
Dan -

Not to speak for others, but

1. They're not causing the throwing team to violate - B is violating the throw-in provisions by doing this, and
2. The other part of this is defendable because of the following exerpt from the Rule Book:

9-2 - ...(throw-ins must meet all of these requirements and people can't do all of these things)...
PENALTY: (Section 2) The ball becomes dead when the violation or technical foul occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot.


9-2-10 is what we're discussing. The penalty, as Rule 9 is organized and worded, applies to all of section 2.

I don't personally care for it, and I think it's a mistake to have this as a violation of the throw-in by A, when 4-42-5 includes the words "inbounds or out of bounds," and then 9-2-10 is (possibly purposefully) ambiguous in not designating what team the "player" is on that is causing this to be a violation - but in any event, that's how it's defendable.

Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Thu Dec 14, 2006 at 07:44pm.
  #57 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 06:32pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
OK. Let me play this back so we all understand what you are saying.
You're going to have to play it back again, so that I understand wtf you are saying. What you've written in that post makes absolutely no sense whatsoever.

Quote:
So if B1 touches the ball OOB on a throw-in by A1 team B gets the ball at the original spot.

That's your claim?
Um, no. I claim to have written all of Shakespeare's sonnets. But that's not really relevant to this thread.

If B1 catches A1's throw-in while B1 is out of bounds, then B1 has committed a violation of 9-2-10 and Team A gets another throw-in from the original throw-in spot. That's my claim. And that's what I've been saying all day.

Quote:
Care to defend how an opponent can cause the other team to violate the throw-in?
Um, no. But since I never claimed that, I don't feel compelled to defend it.
  #58 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 06:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
What did I miss??

(I haven't quite got the hang of this auto-post thing yet)
  #59 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
He's also wrong, but that's another article for Juulie to write.
It's newsworthy when the Scrapman is wrong?
  #60 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
It's newsworthy when the Scrapman is wrong?
Ooh, good one!
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1