Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Care to defend how an opponent can cause the other team to violate the throw-in?
|
Dan -
Not to speak for others, but
1. They're not causing the throwing team to violate - B is violating the throw-in provisions by doing this, and
2. The other part of this is defendable because of the following exerpt from the Rule Book:
9-2 - ...(throw-ins must meet all of these requirements and people can't do all of these things)...
PENALTY: (Section 2) The ball becomes dead when the violation or technical foul occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot.
9-
2-10 is what we're discussing. The penalty, as Rule 9 is organized and worded, applies to
all of section
2.
I don't personally care for it, and I think it's a mistake to have this as a violation of the throw-in by A, when 4-42-5 includes the words "inbounds or out of bounds," and then 9-2-10 is (possibly purposefully) ambiguous in not designating what team the "player" is on that is causing this to be a violation - but in any event, that's how it's defendable.