The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Denied Entry

Lets see if you think I got this right.

Following a time out and after the first warning horn I am counting the players on the court and can see 5 white team members and 4 red team members. Looking toward the red bench, I see a player standing on the court and the coach is looking at his elbow. Coach then says he has blood on him and I ask for a sub. At this point the white team coach sends a sub to the table. I allow the sub for the red team bleeder into the game, but deny entry to the white team sub because he presented himself after the warning horn.

I know there is a rule that says if a player is required by rule to be replaced, then any other entry into the game may enter also, but I believe this applies only to free throws. Also I felt that the bleeding red player had never actually entered the game at this point, and his sub should be classified as the 5th red team member and not as a sub.

Did I do it right by rule or not?
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 12:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
You did what I would have done. If the sub doesn’t report to the table prior to the first horn, no entry until after the ball has become live (or does the clock need to start?). The exception is for forced replacements (blood being one key example.)
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 01:28pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
Lets see if you think I got this right.

Following a time out and after the first warning horn I am counting the players on the court and can see 5 white team members and 4 red team members. Looking toward the red bench, I see a player standing on the court and the coach is looking at his elbow. Coach then says he has blood on him and I ask for a sub. At this point the white team coach sends a sub to the table. I allow the sub for the red team bleeder into the game, but deny entry to the white team sub because he presented himself after the warning horn.

I know there is a rule that says if a player is required by rule to be replaced, then any other entry into the game may enter also, but I believe this applies only to free throws. Also I felt that the bleeding red player had never actually entered the game at this point, and his sub should be classified as the 5th red team member and not as a sub.

Did I do it right by rule or not?
I am allowing the new white player into the game.
It is my reasoning that one of the purposes of having a game is to have the kids on the floor.
Allowing White to substitute during this stoppage, or delay, has little difference to allowing a substitute in before the first of multiple free throws during an interim delay.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
I allow the white team sub

I agree with Mick, and allow the sub. Another reason I can see is that white had a team on the floor based on what red had or didn't have on the floor. When red changes their team, it is only fair to allow white to "match up" by substituting. If the new red team player happens to be their offensive star, who was going to take a breather, then the white team should be allowed to sub in their defensive stopper who was on the bench for the same reason. IMHO
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
After reading the topic I thought this was going to be a meet and greet at a bar gone wrong. But alas no fun story of romping with the fairer of the sexes.

My 2cents -- let the sub in.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
If I allow a player in for one team, then I allow players from both.

EDIT: Case play

3.3.1 SITUATION B: A time-out is granted to Team A with play to resume by administration of a free throw. A6 reports to enter after the timer's warning signal has sounded. Since A6 has reported too late to enter, could he/she enter if: (a) either team is granted a time-out; (b) the resumption of play is delayed because a player is injured getting into position for the free throw; or (c) Team A is willing to “buy” A6's way into the game with a technical foul?

RULING: Permissible in (a) and (b), but not in (c).
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Wed Dec 06, 2006 at 10:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
It looks like 3.3.1 SitB.(b) covers this.

Allow the white sub.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 12:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
EDIT: Case play
Last edited by BktBallRef : Today at 07:19pm.

Now why would you do that when I posted the text of the case play at 07:14pm?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 07:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
Coach then says he has blood on him and I ask for a sub.
At this point the following rules come into force:
3-3-6 . . . A player who is bleeding, has an open wound, has any amount of blood on his/her uniform, or has blood on his/her person, shall be directed to leave the game until the situation is corrected, unless a time-out is requested by, and granted to, his/her team and the situation can be corrected by the end of the time-out.

10-5-3 . . . The head coach must replace or remove a disqualified/injured player, or player directed to leave the game, within 30 seconds when a substitute is available, while within the confines of his/her bench.

2-12-5 . . . Sound a warning signal at 20 seconds of the 30 seconds (maximum) permitted for replacing a disqualified or injured player, or for a player directed to leave the game.

And most likely this one too, despite the last part which would only apply if there was a player DQ:
2-8-4 . . . Notify the coach and request the timer to begin the replacement interval, and then notify the player on a disqualification.

What exactly is this 30 seconds?
It is a replacement interval, not a time-out.

In 2003-04 the NFHS addressed this in a POE. POE #5 that year was called "Substituting – Player Disqualifications," and uses language specific to disqualified players or players who have "fouled out",but it can also logically be applied to any case in which a player is directed to leave the game and must be replaced in such time. That is the case here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
At this point the white team coach sends a sub to the table. I allow the sub for the red team bleeder into the game, but deny entry to the white team sub because he presented himself after the warning horn.
What warning horn are you talking about? The one from the original time-out or the one from the 30-second replacement interval for the bleeding player? You will see below that either horn doesn't matter in this situation.

Did you instruct the timer to start a 30-second interval following the second horn from the time-out? Since you are asking if you did this right, I have to tell you that you didn't, if you failed to properly invoke the 30-second interval.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
I know there is a rule that says if a player is required by rule to be replaced, then any other entry into the game may enter also, but I believe this applies only to free throws.
That is a good point about which to inquire. Since your situation did not involve FTs at all, I would say that the exception for 3-3-1c doesn't apply and that you need to focus on the rules pertaining to the 30-second replacement interval.

From the 2003-04 POE those are:
H.If a substitute from the non-offending team or a substitute from the offending team for someone other than the disqualified player reports to the scorer during the wait for the required substitute, they may enter the game. (3-3-1d) (Notice that the rule citation given is not the FT exception.)

I.A warning horn shall now be sounded at 20 seconds if the required substitute has not reported to the scorer’s table. This is an indication to the head coach that a substitute should report immediately (2-12-5). This warning horn does not have the same substitution restrictions as a warning horn for a time-out (3-3-1a); other substitutes from either team may still report and enter the game until the ball is about to become live. (3-3-2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
Also I felt that the bleeding red player had never actually entered the game at this point, and his sub should be classified as the 5th red team member and not as a sub.

I don't agree with you there. The player with blood on him NEVER left the game, so he doesn't have to reenter at this point. He is already "actually entered." He is merely required by 10-1-9 to return to the floor at approximately the same time as the other four players. You said that he was on the court in front of the bench with his coach looking at his elbow, so he met that requirement.
How can you say that the sub is not a "sub"? Was he legally in the game when the time-out was granted? No. Was he legally in the game when the warning horn sounded during the time-out? No.
He is simply the required substitute for a bleeding player who was directed to leave the game following the time-out.


That's my opinion on how the rules should be applied in this case. I truly do hope that my writing it out helps you in some way. Of course, if you don't agree with it, then just ignore my post.





Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 08, 2006, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
At this point the following rules come into force:
3-3-6 . . . A player who is bleeding, has an open wound, has any amount of blood on his/her uniform, or has blood on his/her person, shall be directed to leave the game until the situation is corrected, unless a time-out is requested by, and granted to, his/her team and the situation can be corrected by the end of the time-out.

10-5-3 . . . The head coach must replace or remove a disqualified/injured player, or player directed to leave the game, within 30 seconds when a substitute is available, while within the confines of his/her bench.

2-12-5 . . . Sound a warning signal at 20 seconds of the 30 seconds (maximum) permitted for replacing a disqualified or injured player, or for a player directed to leave the game.

And most likely this one too, despite the last part which would only apply if there was a player DQ:
2-8-4 . . . Notify the coach and request the timer to begin the replacement interval, and then notify the player on a disqualification.

What exactly is this 30 seconds?
It is a replacement interval, not a time-out.

In 2003-04 the NFHS addressed this in a POE. POE #5 that year was called "Substituting – Player Disqualifications," and uses language specific to disqualified players or players who have "fouled out",but it can also logically be applied to any case in which a player is directed to leave the game and must be replaced in such time. That is the case here.



What warning horn are you talking about? The one from the original time-out or the one from the 30-second replacement interval for the bleeding player? You will see below that either horn doesn't matter in this situation.

Did you instruct the timer to start a 30-second interval following the second horn from the time-out? Since you are asking if you did this right, I have to tell you that you didn't, if you failed to properly invoke the 30-second interval.


That is a good point about which to inquire. Since your situation did not involve FTs at all, I would say that the exception for 3-3-1c doesn't apply and that you need to focus on the rules pertaining to the 30-second replacement interval.

From the 2003-04 POE those are:
H.If a substitute from the non-offending team or a substitute from the offending team for someone other than the disqualified player reports to the scorer during the wait for the required substitute, they may enter the game. (3-3-1d) (Notice that the rule citation given is not the FT exception.)

I.A warning horn shall now be sounded at 20 seconds if the required substitute has not reported to the scorer’s table. This is an indication to the head coach that a substitute should report immediately (2-12-5). This warning horn does not have the same substitution restrictions as a warning horn for a time-out (3-3-1a); other substitutes from either team may still report and enter the game until the ball is about to become live. (3-3-2)



I don't agree with you there. The player with blood on him NEVER left the game, so he doesn't have to reenter at this point. He is already "actually entered." He is merely required by 10-1-9 to return to the floor at approximately the same time as the other four players. You said that he was on the court in front of the bench with his coach looking at his elbow, so he met that requirement.
How can you say that the sub is not a "sub"? Was he legally in the game when the time-out was granted? No. Was he legally in the game when the warning horn sounded during the time-out? No.
He is simply the required substitute for a bleeding player who was directed to leave the game following the time-out.


That's my opinion on how the rules should be applied in this case. I truly do hope that my writing it out helps you in some way. Of course, if you don't agree with it, then just ignore my post.




WOW! you spent a lot of time on this, and the rule references do help. To clarify one point, the red coach had another player into the game before I could get to the scorers table to start a 30 second clock.

Also, thanks for the option to accept or reject your post - Sometimes interpeting the rules is just like interpeting the law. Maybe we all need rules interpeters on retainer like companies do with lawyers.
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DH Re-entry JL87 Baseball 8 Wed Mar 19, 2003 12:30pm
DH Re-entry harmbu Baseball 3 Tue Apr 30, 2002 02:34pm
Protest Denied -- LL NorCalBlue Baseball 16 Sat Jul 14, 2001 12:05pm
DH re-entry PAblue87 Baseball 7 Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:21pm
Illegal Re-entry? Sven Basketball 12 Sat Jan 13, 2001 12:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1