![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Dec 05, 2006 at 09:47am. |
|
|||
Quote:
So your saying even if B deflects the ball into the backcourt and then A goes to get it there should be a BC violation? That is where I am missing something.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
As a second year HS ref, this has been the source of endless confusion for me. I worked the Show-Me State games in Columbia, MO over the summer and watched what I thought were multiple BC violations go uncalled by more experienced officials (one worked state championship game a couple of years ago). When I asked, one told me that the defense had last touched the ball, so the offense could go into their BC and re-establish control with no penalty.
So, I'm at my mechanics clinic this fall and ask the head man giving the clinic how this could be...since team control doesn't end on an interrupted dribble. He essentially told me what I thought before...it doesn't matter if the defense tips it away or not, team control doesn't change and it's a violation for the offense to retrieve the ball from BC. Yet, I have hardly worked a game at any level (JH, freshman, or rec league) where some coach or fan thinks the NBA version is the only correct version. I rarely watch NBA, so now I see where the source of some of the confusion originates.
__________________
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it. |
|
|||
Quote:
1) A has Team Control 2) The ball reaches the FC 3) A is the last to touch before the ball goes to the BC 4) A is the first to touch after the ball goes to the BC 3 Exceptions for airborne players 1) Jump Ball 2) Throw In 3) Defense |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Version 1 - Ball in offensive posession in frontcourt, defensive tip (in either frontcourt or backcourt), offense touches ball in backcourt - no violation. Version 2 - Ball in offensive posession in frontcourt, defensive tip, offensive touch (tip or control) IN FRONTCOURT, offensive touch in backcourt - violation. The problem comes in that people see the defensive touch in #2 and think that the offense is subsequently absolved of any and all backcourt violations. Quote:
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Another back court question | dsturdy5 | Basketball | 13 | Mon Jun 06, 2005 09:10am |
Another back court question | Jay R | Basketball | 11 | Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:25pm |
Maybe a new question for the Back Court Violation Quiz | Ref in PA | Basketball | 9 | Sun Nov 16, 2003 06:23pm |
another back court question | walter | Basketball | 44 | Fri Jun 30, 2000 08:57am |
Another back court question | BSL | Basketball | 10 | Mon Dec 06, 1999 03:33pm |