The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 57
the answer key or solutions that referee provides does not have (D) as one of the answers
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 04:44pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctpfive
the answer key or solutions that referee provides does not have (D) as one of the answers
Well, then REFEREE is wrong. Again.

REFEREE is not an official rules source and never has been.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 71
NCAA page BR-79
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 04:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctpfive
the answer key or solutions that referee provides does not have (D) as one of the answers
4-12-1
A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble.


During a FT, if a player holding a live ball inbounds? You tell me, ctp5.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 57
So, referee is wrong and there is in fact team control during a FT while the shooter is holding the ball. Thank you. I just expected a little more than that from a magazine like referee.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctpfive
I just expected a little more than that from a magazine like referee.
Why did you?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:16pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
4-12-1
A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble.


During a FT, is a player holding a live ball inbounds? You tell me, ctp5.
Yabut, if the free thrower isn't holding a live ball, has never held a live ball, his teammates haven't held a live ball, but that live ball is at his disposal ,is theer or is there not team control?

You tell me, anybody.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yabut, if the free thrower isn't holding a live ball, has never held a live ball, his teammates haven't held a live ball, but that live ball is at his disposal ,is theer or is there not team control?

You tell me, anybody.
Does the word disposal appear in the rule?

4-12-1
A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:29pm
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You beat me to it BBR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:28pm
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
A player is in control when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

A team is in control when a player of the team is in control.

Therefore, if the ball is merely ay the disposal of the freethrower and not held or dribbled by him/her.........no team control.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
A team is in control when a player of the team is in control.
Except a team is still in control, even though a player isn't, during passing activity, an interrupted dribble, or a loose ball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:37pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Except a team is still in control, even though a player isn't, during passing activity, an interrupted dribble, or a loose ball.
You can't establish team control until you establish player control though, can you?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You can't establish team control until you establish player control though, can you?
Not as far as I know. I was simply pointing out that you don't have to have player control to have team control. My post was really not germane to this thread at all.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 02:27am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You can't establish team control until you establish player control though, can you?

This question was left open in the thread about rolling the ball. Is it stated anywhere that team control starts only with player control? Team A inbounds the ball, and immediately, without any player catching the ball, advances up the court with a series of touch passes. By definition passing includes players batting or rolling the ball to each other. Also by definition, as stated here earlier, team control includes passing activity. So why would a foul in this situation not be a team control foul?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 847
OK here is my thought on a foul while the ball is at the disposal of A1 but A1 has not picked up the ball. I don't care if there actually is or is not team control. Most likely it would be an Intentional foul. Players are either lined up or not lined up. If there is a foul, then no one is making a play on the ball. You probably have players pushing and/or shoving. Thus Intentional Foul. A1 would shoot the original free throw. The shoot the free throws for the Intentional foul. Ball OOB at the spot of the foul.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
player control/team control hardwoodballers Basketball 56 Wed Aug 23, 2006 08:41am
Player control vs Team control foul QuebecRef87 Basketball 6 Wed Jan 26, 2005 07:42am
Player COntrol vs. Team Control tjksail Basketball 32 Mon Jan 10, 2005 02:38pm
Team control TriggerMN Basketball 4 Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:52pm
Team Control williebfree Basketball 17 Tue Nov 21, 2000 02:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1