The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 26, 2006, 06:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
And for anyone who didn't notice, Situation 7 from the 2005-06 Interps which I posted made it into the new case book as the play Bob cited, 10.3.4E.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 26, 2006, 06:35pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
And for anyone who didn't notice, Situation 7 from the 2005-06 Interps which I posted made it into the new case book as the play Bob cited, 10.3.4E.
Yeah, I kinda noticed that you cited the exact same thing that Bob did, but over 4 days later.

Keep up the good work You've got a great future behind you.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 26, 2006, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yeah, I kinda noticed that you cited the exact same thing that Bob did, but over 4 days later.

Keep up the good work You've got a great future behind you.
You are INCORRECT, oh great one!

Actually Bob and I cited the same ruling in the very same minute. Please take another look at the times of posts #2 and #4.
You confused that interp from 2005-06 which I cited therein with the one from 2006-07 that I cited in post #8.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Last night (NCAA-M rules) I officiated a military intramural game in which I had to issue a technical for A1 slapping the backboard after dunking. This morning while reviewing Indirect Techincals Fouls I came across this in 10-3-13:
A.R. 201. A1 dunks and in so doing grasps the ring with a free hand: (a) before the ball leaves his or her other hand; or (b)... RULING: In (a), A1 shall be assessed with two indirect technical fouls, one for grasping the ring and the other for dunking a dead ball. In (a), no goal shall be scored. In (b)...
  • Has anyone here ever actually issued 2 indirect T's for the act described in A.R. 201?
  • Is there similar wording in the NFHS rulebook concerning the assessing of 2 technical fouls for this act?
I think I that I have seen the two t senario before in a game and I dont remember where and when. But if it is warranted, then handle your business.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 70
I'm not familiar with the NCAA rulebook, and I was wondering if there is an indirect technical on a player in NCAA? Would the player who dunked the ball and got two Ts be disqualified?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 02:33pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by bronco
I'm not familiar with the NCAA rulebook, and I was wondering if there is an indirect technical on a player in NCAA? Would the player who dunked the ball and got two Ts be disqualified?
Yes, there are indirect T's in NCAA. An example would be the one in the OP where the player smack the backboard after dunking the ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 02:34pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by bronco
I'm not familiar with the NCAA rulebook, and I was wondering if there is an indirect technical on a player in NCAA? Would the player who dunked the ball and got two Ts be disqualified?
Yes, there are indirect T's in NCAA. An example would be the one in the OP where the player smacked the backboard after dunking the ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by bronco
I'm not familiar with the NCAA rulebook, and I was wondering if there is an indirect technical on a player in NCAA? Would the player who dunked the ball and got two Ts be disqualified?
The player would not be disqualified. It would take a 3rd indirect (that falls under 10-3.8 thru 10-3.19) or a direct technical.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 28, 2006, 07:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
NV, you're always here when we don't want your input...where are you now?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grasping the rim during play zebraman Basketball 12 Thu Jun 24, 2004 08:30pm
grasping the rim Dibbs Basketball 6 Tue Dec 24, 2002 10:02pm
Grasping The Ring APHP Basketball 25 Tue Sep 10, 2002 02:22pm
Grasping the Ring Mike Burns Basketball 3 Wed Jan 23, 2002 10:32pm
Grasping the "Basket" rainmaker Basketball 10 Tue Jan 08, 2002 03:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1