The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 02:54pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,866
Grasping rim then dunking

Last night (NCAA-M rules) I officiated a military intramural game in which I had to issue a technical for A1 slapping the backboard after dunking. This morning while reviewing Indirect Techincals Fouls I came across this in 10-3-13:
A.R. 201. A1 dunks and in so doing grasps the ring with a free hand: (a) before the ball leaves his or her other hand; or (b)... RULING: In (a), A1 shall be assessed with two indirect technical fouls, one for grasping the ring and the other for dunking a dead ball. In (a), no goal shall be scored. In (b)...
  • Has anyone here ever actually issued 2 indirect T's for the act described in A.R. 201?
  • Is there similar wording in the NFHS rulebook concerning the assessing of 2 technical fouls for this act?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Nov 15, 2006 at 03:22pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,749
There is a similar ruling by the NFHS which says that only one T should be assessed. When I read this I thought, "What happened to the T for hanging on the rim?" Needless to say, I'm not fond of this ruling, but it is what it is.

2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 7: Only a few seconds remain in the second quarter. Team A is advancing the ball from backcourt to frontcourt. A1 is driving toward his/her basket and is about to dunk the ball when the horn sounds to end the first half. Shortly after the horn sounds, A1 dunks the ball and hangs on to the rim. RULING: A1 is assessed a technical foul for dunking a dead ball. The foul is also charged indirectly to the head coach. The third quarter begins with Team B being awarded two free throws and the ball at the division line. The alternating-possession arrow is not affected and remains unchanged. (5-6-4; 10-3-4)

Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Nov 15, 2006 at 03:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Last night (NCAA-M rules) I officiated a military intramural game in which I had to access a technical for A1 slapping the backboard after dunking. This morning while reviewing Indirect Techincals Fouls I came across this in 10-3-13:
  • Has anyone here ever actually accessed 2 indirect T's for the above act?
I think you'd have to issue three Ts.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
There is a similar ruling by the NFHS which says that only one T should be assessed.
I was trying to find this, but failed. I did, however, come across new 10.3.4E, which could shed some light on our "when does intermission begin?" issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 03:15pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Last night (NCAA-M rules) I officiated a military intramural game in which I had to access a technical for A1 slapping the backboard after dunking. This morning while reviewing Indirect Techincals Fouls I came across this in 10-3-13:
  • Has anyone here ever actually accessed 2 indirect T's for the above act?
  • Is there similar wording in the NFHS rulebook concerning the assessing of 2 technical fouls for this act?
There's no similar case play in NFHS per se. You could possibly string two separate parts of R10-3-4 together and come up with the same call. Not sure that I'd personally recommend going after that one though. It seems like overkill to me.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 06:53pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,386
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
There is a similar ruling by the NFHS which says that only one T should be assessed. When I read this I thought, "What happened to the T for hanging on the rim?" Needless to say, I'm not fond of this ruling, but it is what it is.

2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 7: Only a few seconds remain in the second quarter. Team A is advancing the ball from backcourt to frontcourt. A1 is driving toward his/her basket and is about to dunk the ball when the horn sounds to end the first half. Shortly after the horn sounds, A1 dunks the ball and hangs on to the rim. RULING: A1 is assessed a technical foul for dunking a dead ball. The foul is also charged indirectly to the head coach. The third quarter begins with Team B being awarded two free throws and the ball at the division line. The alternating-possession arrow is not affected and remains unchanged. (5-6-4; 10-3-4)
Might be semantics, Nevada, but the play described by the OP has the guy grasping the rim, and [presumably with the other hand] then dunking. The casebook play has the grasp AFTER the dunk. Wouldn't [at least in NFHS] the grasp be cause for a dead ball on the whistle and the dunk of a dead ball result in two Ts?
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,749
I don't think that the order matters. The NFHS rule is that grasping the ring at anytime during the jurisdiction of the officials when it is not to prevent injury is a technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I was trying to find this, but failed. I did, however, come across new 10.3.4E, which could shed some light on our "when does intermission begin?" issue.
So could this:
2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 4: The horn sounds to end the third quarter. As the teams are heading to their respective benches, team members A1 and B1 verbally taunt one another. RULING: Double technical foul charged to A1 and B1. During the intermission between quarters, all team members are bench personnel. Both head coaches are indirectly charged with technical fouls and lose their coaching box privileges. Play will resume at the point of interruption, which is an alternating-possession arrow throw-in to begin the fourth quarter. (4-34-2; 10-4-1c Penalty)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
and if the ball is dunked and then the kid does a chin up and slaps the board after that...then you also have two T's, is the kid now ejected! Has anyone ever called Both of these??? i have called one for this action several times, but never both...although could have!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 26, 2006, 06:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,749
And for anyone who didn't notice, Situation 7 from the 2005-06 Interps which I posted made it into the new case book as the play Bob cited, 10.3.4E.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 26, 2006, 06:35pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
And for anyone who didn't notice, Situation 7 from the 2005-06 Interps which I posted made it into the new case book as the play Bob cited, 10.3.4E.
Yeah, I kinda noticed that you cited the exact same thing that Bob did, but over 4 days later.

Keep up the good work You've got a great future behind you.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 26, 2006, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yeah, I kinda noticed that you cited the exact same thing that Bob did, but over 4 days later.

Keep up the good work You've got a great future behind you.
You are INCORRECT, oh great one!

Actually Bob and I cited the same ruling in the very same minute. Please take another look at the times of posts #2 and #4.
You confused that interp from 2005-06 which I cited therein with the one from 2006-07 that I cited in post #8.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Last night (NCAA-M rules) I officiated a military intramural game in which I had to issue a technical for A1 slapping the backboard after dunking. This morning while reviewing Indirect Techincals Fouls I came across this in 10-3-13:
A.R. 201. A1 dunks and in so doing grasps the ring with a free hand: (a) before the ball leaves his or her other hand; or (b)... RULING: In (a), A1 shall be assessed with two indirect technical fouls, one for grasping the ring and the other for dunking a dead ball. In (a), no goal shall be scored. In (b)...
  • Has anyone here ever actually issued 2 indirect T's for the act described in A.R. 201?
  • Is there similar wording in the NFHS rulebook concerning the assessing of 2 technical fouls for this act?
I think I that I have seen the two t senario before in a game and I dont remember where and when. But if it is warranted, then handle your business.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 70
I'm not familiar with the NCAA rulebook, and I was wondering if there is an indirect technical on a player in NCAA? Would the player who dunked the ball and got two Ts be disqualified?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 02:33pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by bronco
I'm not familiar with the NCAA rulebook, and I was wondering if there is an indirect technical on a player in NCAA? Would the player who dunked the ball and got two Ts be disqualified?
Yes, there are indirect T's in NCAA. An example would be the one in the OP where the player smack the backboard after dunking the ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grasping the rim during play zebraman Basketball 12 Thu Jun 24, 2004 08:30pm
grasping the rim Dibbs Basketball 6 Tue Dec 24, 2002 10:02pm
Grasping The Ring APHP Basketball 25 Tue Sep 10, 2002 02:22pm
Grasping the Ring Mike Burns Basketball 3 Wed Jan 23, 2002 10:32pm
Grasping the "Basket" rainmaker Basketball 10 Tue Jan 08, 2002 03:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1