The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 09:30am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
No, but what's that got to do with this?
It has to do with whether or not you are going enforce the penalty as a Team Control foul or as an intentional/flagrant.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 09:46am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
No, but what's that got to do with this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
It has to do with whether or not you are going enforce the penalty as a Team Control foul or as an intentional/flagrant.

My point is that this is rule book language. Multiple choice question:

Which of the following passages comes from the rule book?

A. There are no free throws on a team control foul unless it is deemed
intentional or flagrant.

B. While A1 is holding the ball, if A2 commits a foul which is intentional or
flagrant, it is not a team control foul.

You could get the call right whether you knew the answer to this question or not.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Okay, the answer is false. No need for a big heated discussion. I just thought it was kind of a strange question. Both argued points are valid.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 10:27am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
No, but what's that got to do with this?





My point is that this is rule book language. Multiple choice question:

Which of the following passages comes from the rule book?

A. There are no free throws on a team control foul unless it is deemed
intentional or flagrant.

B. While A1 is holding the ball, if A2 commits a foul which is intentional or
flagrant, it is not a team control foul.

You could get the call right whether you knew the answer to this question or not.
Well, I know B didn't come from the rulebook b/c I wrote it. I'm still trying to find A in the rulebook but I seem to be having a problem locating it.

You may not think it matters, that's fine. But I think if an official reports A2's intentional/flagrant foul as a Team Control foul, Coach A is gonna have a problem when B2 is shooting free throws instead of Team B taking the ball out nearest the spot of the foul.

And since IREFU2 and I are in the same HS association I want to make sure he and I are on the same page. Because just our luck, we'll have our first game together and this exact scenario will happen.

PS: Rob, I only get heated at my kids, the ex-wife, the occasional girlfriend, and the Philadelphia Eagles' poor tackling.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Nov 14, 2006 at 10:30am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
I need to get on your level before we have a game together and you would be the Referee to keep the game straight...LOL!!! Is that occasioal girlfriend from Phili????????
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 10:50am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Multiple choice question:

Which of the following passages comes from the rule book?

A. There are no free throws on a team control foul unless it is deemed
intentional or flagrant.

B. While A1 is holding the ball, if A2 commits a foul which is intentional or
flagrant, it is not a team control foul.

You could get the call right whether you knew the answer to this question or not.


Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Well, I know B didn't come from the rulebook b/c I wrote it. I'm still trying to find A in the rulebook but I seem to be having a problem locating it.

You may not think it matters, that's fine. But I think if an official reports A2's intentional/flagrant foul as a Team Control foul, Coach A is gonna have a problem when B2 is shooting free throws instead of Team B taking the ball out nearest the spot of the foul.
Neither passage is from a book, but both would produce the same final result.

I guarantee you most coaches know a lot less about rulebook language than you and I do. If you report a flagrant or intentional foul on A1, I would be amazed if any coach ever asked, "Wasn't that a team control foul?"
BUT, they could, and even if they did and you incorrectly informed them that it was indeed a team control foul but you still get free throws since it was intentional/flagrant, 90 something % of coaches would not know the difference. And what difference is there, really? It's in the book as a personal foul. We will shoot 2, B will get the ball at the spot nearest the foul.
Now that the test is over, what reason is there for anyone to know whether this an exception to the team control rule, or the fact that the foul is intentional/flagrant means that it is no longer a team control foul.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
My point is that this is rule book language. Multiple choice question:

Which of the following passages comes from the rule book?

A. There are no free throws on a team control foul unless it is deemed
intentional or flagrant.
This one can't come from the rules book, because a TC foul cannot be I or F.

It's the same (or nearly so) as whether a player with the ball can commit a personl foul that's not a PC -- clearly so, and FTs would be shot.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 70
Quote:
It's the same (or nearly so) as whether a player with the ball can commit a personl foul that's not a PC -- clearly so, and FTs would be shot.
It's not entirely clear to me what an example of this is, but then again you know the rules better than I do.

I could think maybe a flagrant foul on a person who has the ball, but I'm not sure if that's what you were talking about.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bronco
It's not entirely clear to me what an example of this is, but then again you know the rules better than I do.

I could think maybe a flagrant foul on a person who has the ball, but I'm not sure if that's what you were talking about.
A1 grabs a rebound, pivots, and intentionally elbows B1. PC foul?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
A1 grabs a rebound, pivots, and intentionally elbows B1. PC foul?
No, that is an intentional foul.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bronco
It's not entirely clear to me what an example of this is, but then again you know the rules better than I do.

I could think maybe a flagrant foul on a person who has the ball, but I'm not sure if that's what you were talking about.

A1 dribbling up the court, pushes off b1 to get by him. PC?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougster45
A1 dribbling up the court, pushes off b1 to get by him. PC?
Yes, this is a player control foul.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 219
true,
4-19-3
are am i missing something here?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1