The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Question #28

This one kind of stumped me and I think I got it right. A Team Control Foul can also be intentional or flagrant. I put false. Comments?
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 09:12am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
This one kind of stumped me and I think I got it right. A Team Control Foul can also be intentional or flagrant. I put false. Comments?
Read 4-19-7 and then read 4-19-2, in that order.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 09:14am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
4-19-7 A team control foul is a common foul..........

4-19-2 A common foul is a personal foul which is neither flagrant or intentional.......

Sounds false to me.

It's good if you got it right on the test, because that's the only place you will ever need that information.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 09:17am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref

It's good if you got it right on the test, because that's the only place you will ever need that information.
Not true. A1 could be dribbling the ball and A2 commits an especially heinous foul on B2. Would you call just a normal, run-of-the-mill team control foul on A2.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 09:23am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Not true. A1 could be dribbling the ball and A2 commits an especially heinous foul on B2. Would you call just a normal, run-of-the-mill team control foul on A2.
No, but what's that got to do with this?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 09:30am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
No, but what's that got to do with this?
It has to do with whether or not you are going enforce the penalty as a Team Control foul or as an intentional/flagrant.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 09:46am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
No, but what's that got to do with this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
It has to do with whether or not you are going enforce the penalty as a Team Control foul or as an intentional/flagrant.

My point is that this is rule book language. Multiple choice question:

Which of the following passages comes from the rule book?

A. There are no free throws on a team control foul unless it is deemed
intentional or flagrant.

B. While A1 is holding the ball, if A2 commits a foul which is intentional or
flagrant, it is not a team control foul.

You could get the call right whether you knew the answer to this question or not.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Yes, I read those two Rules and I am assuming its a trick question!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2006, 09:19am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
Yes, I read those two Rules and I am assuming its a trick question!
Rob, it's not a trick question. It's a rules knowledge question. Read my reply to JAR.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1