![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
IAABO 2006 Refresher Exam Answer Mistakes
According to our board secretary/treasurer and our board interpreter, there are three mistakes on the IAABO 2006 Refresher Exam Answer And Reference Sheet. This information came out of a board Refresher Exam study session:
Question #15: Correct answer should be YES. Question #49: Correct answer should be NO. Question #80: Correct answer should be NO. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Personally, I don't like the answer to #13 or #33.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Mon Nov 13, 2006 at 10:47am. |
|
|||
|
13. While the official passes team A’s bench, someone from the bench utters uncomplimentary language. The official is not able to designate which bench personnel uttered the words. Official charges a technical foul to the head coach. Is the official correct?
33. A–1 after receiving the ball, places the ball on the floor and simultaneously releases it with both hands. A–1 then picks up the ball and dribbles toward the side line. Official rules this an illegal dribble. Is the official correct? 75. After the ball becomes live to begin the first quarter the official notices that A–1 is wearing an illegal jersey. A–1 plays the whole first quarter and enters the court to start the second quarter. Official assesses A–1 with a technical foul. Is the official correct?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
We have a case play with a player who recovers the ball while laying on the floor that may be useful in this case. (The case was quote here: http://forum.officiating.com/showpos...45&postcount=2) If that player on the floor sits the ball down, stands, then picks up the ball, it is considered traveling. To me, that says that sitting the ball on the floor is not a dribble....otherwise it would have been a legal play. Now to this case... How is it different? The only differnce is the position of the player, not the action with the ball. So, is sitting the ball on the floor a dribbler or not?? If not, then the official is wrong. If so, then teh case play I referenced is providing a contratdictory interpretation of stilling the ball on the floor.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Once the player is playing, it is deemed legal. Reading into it you could argue an illegal number might have been the reason for its illegality, but the question does not say it was an illegal number.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
How does that ruling fit with case 4.45.5.B? In it A1 gains control of the ball on the floor and it says... "It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball."Since it is not possible to travel during a dribble, the act of putting the ball on the floor must not be a dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the number must be changed to match the scorebook (or vice versa), that's a different issue, penalty, timeframe, and doesn't make the jersey illegal. Thus, it doesn't apply to the question posed. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
For a shirt to be considered illegal something else besides the number must be wrong with it. (i.e. too many colors, illegal memorial patch, visible manufacturer's logo, etc.) If a player were to have a number that contained a 6, 7, 8, or 9 the player would be penalized for wearing an illegal number, but not also for wearing an illegal shirt. Notice the "or" in the language of 10-3-2. To me that means that they are seperate infractions. . . . Wear an illegal number or an illegal shirt or illegal pants/skirt. PENALTY: (Art. 2) Each violation is penalized one time if discovered prior to ball becoming live for each designated starter and each substitute who enters. I do not believe that it is the intent of the rule to penalize the kid twice for having one item wrong on his shirt. If that were the case, then no one could ever play with an illegal number because that team member would receive two player technical fouls and be disqualified!
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
#33, sitting the ball on the floor is NOT a dribble.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| refresher test question #9 | scat03 | Basketball | 4 | Thu Nov 09, 2006 02:56pm |
| IAABO refresher question #2 | assignmentmaker | Basketball | 7 | Mon Nov 21, 2005 02:38am |
| Refresher Question 13 | Jeff the Ref | Basketball | 2 | Tue Nov 12, 2002 11:30am |
| IAABO Refresher Test Question #58. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 38 | Wed Oct 24, 2001 10:18am |
| Question #10, Refresher Exam | Thomas Lacey | Basketball | 8 | Tue Nov 16, 1999 10:38pm |