The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
So you don't believe that this part applies in this situation?


RULE 4, SECTION 3 SETTING DIRECTION OF INITIAL ARROW
Alternating-possession control is established and the initial direction of the possession arrow is set toward the opponent's basket when:
ART. 1 . . . A player secures control of the ball, as after the jump ball.
ART. 2 . . . The ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower after a common foul when the bonus free throw is in effect.
ART. 3 . . . The ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower after:
a. A violation during or following the jump before a player secures control.
b. The free throws for a noncommon foul.
c. A common foul before the bonus free throw is in effect.
NOTE: This procedure is used only to establish the alternating-possession procedure. See 6-4 for using the procedure and reversing the possession arrow.
No, I don't.

I'm guessing that you're next going to ask me why...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
I agree with those who said it's not covered.

So, I'm using 2-3 to set the arrow toward B's basket -- under the theory that A's score constitutes the first "posession" (an undefined term) and B should have the next AP.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
Do you really need possesion to score a goal? A tip is not possesion, and still counts as a goal.

B is getting the first possession after the made basket. Why not give A the arrow?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Provo, UT
Posts: 176
Send a message via Yahoo to agr8zebra
Poss is not a requirement as team A can put the ball into B's basketball and team B is credited with 2 points. No team B Poss.

Let's revisit the value of the points that will be scored. Is A1's slap of a jumpball toss considered a try for goal?
__________________
Jess

After all that is said and done, more is said than done
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by agr8zebra
Let's revisit the value of the points that will be scored. Is A1's slap of a jumpball toss considered a try for goal?
No, but it doesn't matter.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
There's really only 2 ways to set the INITIAL direction of the AP arrow. It all revolves around either a player in control of the ball after the jump. (this would be in all cases where the ball was legally tipped and recovered in bounds) Once its controlled inbounds then the arrow is set to the opposing team:

OR the second;

Would be if no player control was ever gained then you would go to the the throw in. When setting the INITIAL direction, as soon as the ball is @ the disposal of the thrower then the arrow would be set toward the opposing team.

This is completly different then adminstering a AP throw in. All we are doing is setting the initial direction and not doing a AP throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Has to be three point basket. Doesn't have to be try. Any ball that goes through the basket that is trown or tapped behind the tree point line by the offensive team assuming it doesn't hit anybody on the way will be a three point goal

Case Book 5.2.1 sit.B
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Thumbs up

by definition player control can only exist on the floor holding ot dribbling the ball - and not durring a jump ball -
so you could only set the arrow when the throw-in after the basket is legally completed, the arrow would be set to the other team!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 11:42am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Wow this is some good stuff. I think if this occured, team A would get the AP first, provided team B made a successful throw-in.

Here's what I got:
4-12-6
Neither team control nor player control exist during a dead ball, throw-in, a jump ball, or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.

4-3-1 Setting Direction of Initial Arrow
A player secures control of the ball, as after the jump ball.

4-3-1 is stating player control. However, during a throw-in, this doesn't exist. Therefore, once there is player control after the throw-in, I would say you would set the arrow in the opposite direction of whoever secured control. So if B is making the throw-in and A steals it, under my thinking team B would get the first AP.

That's probably way too much thinking and probably way, way off. But, that's what I've got.

But, I can see going with Bob on this one and using 2-3. Either coach probably wouldn't say a thing if you gave team B the first AP.

Either way, if this occurred, you can bet I'd blow it dead and take care of it ASAP. Fire away...
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
by definition player control can only exist on the floor holding ot dribbling the ball - and not durring a jump ball -
so you could only set the arrow when the throw-in after the basket is legally completed, the arrow would be set to the other team!
I have to disagree with this. The throw in doesn't have to be completed in this case. It would in AP throw in's which this isn't one of those.

Rule 4-3 art. 2,3. When setting the INITIAL direction the ball only has to be @ the disposal of the thrower.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 11:59am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
I have to disagree with this. The throw in doesn't have to be completed in this case. It would in AP throw in's which this isn't one of those.

Rule 4-3 art. 2,3. When setting the INITIAL direction the ball only has to be @ the disposal of the thrower.
But there aren't any fouls, free throws, or violations. The only thing you've had is 3 points for team A.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
If it isn't covered by rule, and it appears that it isn't, then look for a precedent. If the jump ball is tapped out of bounds, when is the arrow set? When the ball is at the disposal of the thrower? If there is a common foul during the jump, when is the arrow set? When the ball is at the disposal of the thrower? So why wouldn't you set the arrow after a basket off the jump when the ball is at the disposal of the thrower?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 12:30pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
If the jump ball is tapped out of bounds, when is the arrow set? When the ball is at the disposal of the thrower? If there is a common foul during the jump, when is the arrow set? When the ball is at the disposal of the thrower? So why wouldn't you set the arrow after a basket off the jump when the ball is at the disposal of the thrower?
Somebody agrees with me!!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 12:39pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Hmmm, well thinking a little more, I think I'm on board with at the disposal of the thrower now. Due to the fact, that if it wasn't set at that point, and the thrower broke the plane and team A grabbed the ball and you had a held ball...who would you give the ball to if the AP hasn't been set? Using the theory of once the throw-in is complete, if you had a held ball, you'd have to re-jump it since the AP wasn't set.

I'm going with at the disposal of the thrower.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 30
Don't worry about the answer....

sign the kid up for volleyball.
__________________
Charles Slavik
Eagle Baseball Club
South Elgin, IL
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
jump ball John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 1 Mon Feb 13, 2006 05:26pm
Question -- Jump ball right after opening Jump ball bradfordwilkins Basketball 9 Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:42pm
Jump Ball tjchamp Basketball 13 Wed Apr 21, 2004 11:35am
Jump Ball: Possession Arrow vs. Actual Jump Ball KingTripleJump Basketball 21 Thu Feb 12, 2004 08:47am
Strange jump ball situation Lotto Basketball 1 Sat Dec 20, 2003 08:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1