![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				NCAA Running O.O.B. Violation
			 
			
			
			This is a question on the Men's Basketball Rules Exam. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Quote: 
	
 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Good point. If it's during a designated spot throw-in, then it's a violation as soon as the player steps OOB to go around the screen.  If the ball has inbound status, then it's a violation when the player is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			The question doesn't say what kind of violation it is; only that it's a violation. So either way, I think the answer is that the official is correct. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
   forgot that the original question said A3 was the first to touch the ball. I was thinking if A3 was not the first to touch the ball then the answer would be different. It would be a violation if it was during a throw-in and not a violation if the ball is in the playing court.Thanks  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 | 
			 
			Similar Threads
		 | 
	||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| running OOb violation | finnref | Basketball | 12 | Sun Mar 26, 2006 03:09pm | 
| running the baseline after violation | sptheref | Basketball | 2 | Wed Feb 09, 2005 06:23pm | 
| ASA - running lane violation with a walk | Dakota | Softball | 34 | Thu Sep 25, 2003 09:57am | 
| running lane violation | Rachel | Softball | 4 | Thu Jul 10, 2003 09:03pm | 
| Running baseline after violation | BayStateRef | Basketball | 50 | Tue Apr 08, 2003 07:50pm |