The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 07:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 517
NCAA Running O.O.B. Violation

This is a question on the Men's Basketball Rules Exam.

Quote:
A-1 and A-2 set a stationary screen on the end line. A-3, using the screen, steps out-of-bounds on his own volition, circles around, and returns to the court. A-3 is the first to touch the ball after returning to the court. The official rules this a violation. Is the official correct?
I know that this is a violation if the ball is live on the playing court per 9-4.1 but what if this is during a throw-in? The rule reads that no player is allowed out of bounds during a designated spot throw-in.

Quote:
Rule 9-4.1 A player who steps out of bounds under his/her own volition and then becomes the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court has committed a violation.

Rule 9-5.2 No player other than the thrower-in shall:
a. Perform the throw-in or be out of bounds after a designated-spot
throw-in begins.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Good point. If it's during a designated spot throw-in, then it's a violation as soon as the player steps OOB to go around the screen. If the ball has inbound status, then it's a violation when the player is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds.

The question doesn't say what kind of violation it is; only that it's a violation. So either way, I think the answer is that the official is correct.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
The question doesn't say what kind of violation it is; only that it's a violation. So either way, I think the answer is that the official is correct.
Chuck, your right that no matter what it is a violation. I started thinking of another scenario and forgot that the original question said A3 was the first to touch the ball. I was thinking if A3 was not the first to touch the ball then the answer would be different. It would be a violation if it was during a throw-in and not a violation if the ball is in the playing court.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
running OOb violation finnref Basketball 12 Sun Mar 26, 2006 03:09pm
running the baseline after violation sptheref Basketball 2 Wed Feb 09, 2005 06:23pm
ASA - running lane violation with a walk Dakota Softball 34 Thu Sep 25, 2003 09:57am
running lane violation Rachel Softball 4 Thu Jul 10, 2003 09:03pm
Running baseline after violation BayStateRef Basketball 50 Tue Apr 08, 2003 07:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1