![]() |
|
|
|||
Throw In after Made Basket
I just started officiating a two year ago so I'm fairly new. I'm not sure if this applies to most officials when they start, but I got most of my basketball rules knowledge from watching the NBA and some from NCAA. Now that I'm a high school official, I'm trying not to confuse myself with NBA rules anymore.
Here's the question. Is there anywhere in the rulebook that addresses throw-in violations after a made basket? Like say the player throwing the ball in doesn't completely step out of bounds or has at least one foot on the endline when he throws. If it's a violation, I'm assuming the penalty is loss of possession. Also, should a violation be called in situations like: (1) Team B just made a basket. A1 picks up the ball for the throw-in, has the ball ready to throw for about 1-2 seconds, then A2 grabs the ball from A1 OOB and decides to do the throw-in himself. (2) Same as #1 except A1 PASSES the ball to A2 OOB to do the switch. Does the length of time A1 has the ball ready for the throw-in have anything to do with it? |
|
||||||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Last edited by tjones1; Tue Oct 31, 2006 at 05:17pm. |
|
||||
Quote:
Quote:
The rest of what tanner posted is good. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
9.2.2 SITUATION C: A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net, B1 grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though preparing to make a throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds, both feet remain inbounds. B1 immediately passes the ball up the court to a fast-breaking teammate, who scores a basket. RULING: Cancel Team B's goal, throw-in violation on B1. The ball was at B1's disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1 must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. (7-4-3; 7-5-7) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Inbound After Made Basket - Feet Over Line
Hey Guys,
Related to this thread, I play in a league that uses modified NCAA rules. Tonight a ref called a violation on me while I was inbounding after a made basket because I did not have BOTH feet ofer the endline, one of my feet was lifted and in the air, and over the endline. I have read the rules, and nearly exploded, positive that I was right. I have read the rulebook cover to cover and pay attention to officiating in all games that I watch on TV. I actually reffed a bit in college for an intramural league. The ref told me that I better just follow his rule the rest of the game because he was going to call it the same way from that point on. I told him ok. After the game I went over and told him that I disagreed with his ruling and asked if he would double check his position in the rule book before the games next week - he responded by giving me advice on my game. That really made me mad. Shouldn't he say that he would at least look into it? I know a players position on the court is determined by the last place where they touched, and this is what I am basing my ruling on. Could you please point out what sections of the rule book I can print out to make my case the strongest? Thanks, Todd Lynch |
|
|||
Quote:
Throw-ins are rule 7. Throw-in violations are rule 9-2. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw-in from the end line after a made basket. | Kajun Ref N Texas | Basketball | 12 | Sun Oct 01, 2006 11:40am |
Made basket | ttownterp | Basketball | 2 | Thu Feb 23, 2006 08:36pm |
Basline throw-in after made basket and T.O. | zebraman | Basketball | 23 | Sat Mar 26, 2005 04:57am |
Throw in after made basket | Rodego | Basketball | 11 | Fri Jul 30, 2004 05:12pm |
Throw-In after made basket | kschau | Basketball | 1 | Sat Jan 20, 2001 11:10am |