| 
			
			 
			
				Thu Nov 02, 2006, 11:13pm
			
			
			
		 | 
	| 
		
			
			| Official Forum Member |  | 
					Join Date: Dec 2004 Location: Champaign, IL 
						Posts: 5,687
					      |  | 
	
	| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Nevadaref
					
				 JR gave you great advice in telling you to read the case book plays on throw-ins, but since you specifically asked about this play here is the proper case book ruling for it.
 
 9.2.2 SITUATION C: A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net, B1 grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though preparing to make a throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds, both feet remain inbounds. B1 immediately passes the ball up the court to a fast-breaking teammate, who scores a basket. RULING: Cancel Team B's goal, throw-in violation on B1. The ball was at B1's disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1 must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. (7-4-3; 7-5-7)
 |  Umm...let me get this straight - you can cancel a basket because you can go back in time and call a violation?
   
				__________________M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.
 
 (Used with permission.)
 |