The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2006, 01:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by actuary77
Here's the question. Is there anywhere in the rulebook that addresses throw-in violations after a made basket? Like say the player throwing the ball in doesn't completely step out of bounds ...
JR gave you great advice in telling you to read the case book plays on throw-ins, but since you specifically asked about this play here is the proper case book ruling for it.


9.2.2 SITUATION C: A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net, B1 grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though preparing to make a throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds, both feet remain inbounds. B1 immediately passes the ball up the court to a fast-breaking teammate, who scores a basket. RULING: Cancel Team B's goal, throw-in violation on B1. The ball was at B1's disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1 must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. (7-4-3; 7-5-7)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2006, 07:56pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Also, remember that only one foot has to be down. A player may step OOB with one foot, leave the other foot in the air hovering over the part of the court that is in bounds, and make his/her throw in. This legal, even if the foot on the floor is touching the OOB line itself. The line is OOB, so it's legal.
You'll see courts with really thick OOB lines (I've seen them as much as 3 feet wide), or with simply a change in paint color instead of a "line" per se.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 04:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Also, remember that only one foot has to be down. A player may step OOB with one foot, leave the other foot in the air hovering over the part of the court that is in bounds, and make his/her throw in.
Hey, didn't I write that the day before?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
This legal, even if the foot on the floor is touching the OOB line itself. The line is OOB, so it's legal.
You'll see courts with really thick OOB lines (I've seen them as much as 3 feet wide), or with simply a change in paint color instead of a "line" per se.
This is a good point.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 11:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
JR gave you great advice in telling you to read the case book plays on throw-ins, but since you specifically asked about this play here is the proper case book ruling for it.


9.2.2 SITUATION C: A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net, B1 grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though preparing to make a throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds, both feet remain inbounds. B1 immediately passes the ball up the court to a fast-breaking teammate, who scores a basket. RULING: Cancel Team B's goal, throw-in violation on B1. The ball was at B1's disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1 must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. (7-4-3; 7-5-7)
Umm...let me get this straight - you can cancel a basket because you can go back in time and call a violation?

__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 04:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Umm...let me get this straight - you can cancel a basket because you can go back in time and call a violation?

Certainly seems that way. Of course, the official must actually CALL the violation!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 04, 2008, 12:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9
Inbound After Made Basket - Feet Over Line

Hey Guys,

Related to this thread, I play in a league that uses modified NCAA rules.

Tonight a ref called a violation on me while I was inbounding after a made basket because I did not have BOTH feet ofer the endline, one of my feet was lifted and in the air, and over the endline.

I have read the rules, and nearly exploded, positive that I was right. I have read the rulebook cover to cover and pay attention to officiating in all games that I watch on TV. I actually reffed a bit in college for an intramural league.

The ref told me that I better just follow his rule the rest of the game because he was going to call it the same way from that point on. I told him ok.

After the game I went over and told him that I disagreed with his ruling and asked if he would double check his position in the rule book before the games next week - he responded by giving me advice on my game. That really made me mad. Shouldn't he say that he would at least look into it?

I know a players position on the court is determined by the last place where they touched, and this is what I am basing my ruling on. Could you please point out what sections of the rule book I can print out to make my case the strongest?

Thanks,
Todd Lynch
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 04, 2008, 09:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlynch
I know a players position on the court is determined by the last place where they touched, and this is what I am basing my ruling on. Could you please point out what sections of the rule book I can print out to make my case the strongest?

Thanks,
Todd Lynch
Sometimes you get RecLeague Refs at Rec League Games. Still, you shouldnt' "nearly explode" at the call. Any correction will be best received if it comes from the supervisor / assignor, and not from a player.

Throw-ins are rule 7. Throw-in violations are rule 9-2.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 04, 2008, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9
Rule 7 - Section 1 - Art. 1.

A player shall be out of bounds when he or she touches the floor or any object other than a player on or outside a boundary line. An airborn player’s status shall be where he or she was last in contact with the floor.

-----------------------

Rule 7 - Section 5 - Art. 8.

After a goal as listed in Rule 7-4.1.c, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line.

a. Any player of the throw-in team may make a direct throw-in or may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate who is also out of bounds.

---------------------

Rule 9 - Section 5 - A.R. 182.

During a throw-in by Team A, (a) A1’s foot breaks the plane of the boundary line or (b) A1’s hand(s) and the ball break the plane of the boundary line.

RULING: No violation in either (a) or (b).



=================================================

Are there any other articles that deal with the issue of inbounding with just one foot over the endline, quickly, to ignite a fastbreak? 9-5-182 makes it pretty clear but I hope to send a well formed email to the commissioner so the rule can be called consistently.

I just noticed - If you combine 7-5-8 (end line to a teammate who is also out of bounds.) with 7-5-1, it would seem that a teammate receiving the pass could be standing with one foot inbounds and one foot out of bounds, as the player would, by 7-5-1, be 'out of bounds'.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 04, 2008, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlynch
I just noticed - If you combine 7-5-8 (end line to a teammate who is also out of bounds.) with 7-5-1, it would seem that a teammate receiving the pass could be standing with one foot inbounds and one foot out of bounds, as the player would, by 7-5-1, be 'out of bounds'.
the player throwing the pass wouldn't be in violation, but the player receiving it would be.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 04, 2008, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Mr. Lynch,

In your first post, the official is wrong, but as already noted this is a rec league so what do you expect an NBA quality referee? Here is the case book play stating that only one foot must be keep on or over the designated-spot.

7.6.2 SITUATION: A1 is out of bounds for a designated-spot throw-in. The administering official has designated the spot and put the ball at A1's disposal. In order to avoid some of the defensive pressure near the throw-in spot, A1 takes several steps directly backward, but keeps one foot on or over the designated area prior to releasing the ball on a throw-in pass. RULING: Legal throw-in. It is permissible for the thrower to move backward or forward within the 3-foot-wide designated area without violating and he/she may move laterally if at least one foot is kept on or over the designated area until the ball is released. The thrower may also jump vertically and pass from the designated throw-in spot. COMMENT: Pivot-foot restrictions and the traveling rule are not in effect for a throw-in. The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released.
-------------------------
And this one tells you that it is only illegal if BOTH FEET remain inbounds.

9.2.2 SITUATION C: A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net, B1 grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though preparing to make a throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds, both feet remain inbounds. B1 immediately passes the ball up the court to a fast-breaking teammate, who scores a basket. RULING: Cancel Team B's goal, throw-in violation on B1. The ball was at B1's disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1 must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. (7-4-3; 7-5-7)
--------------------------
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlynch
I just noticed - If you combine 7-5-8 (end line to a teammate who is also out of bounds.) with 7-5-1, it would seem that a teammate receiving the pass could be standing with one foot inbounds and one foot out of bounds, as the player would, by 7-5-1, be 'out of bounds'.

For this last question, you need to understand that it would be a violation per either of these two rulings depending upon the situation:

a. 9.2.5 SITUATION: Thrower A1 inadvertently steps through the plane of the boundary line and touches the court inbounds. A1 immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds throw-in position. The contact with the court was during a situation: (a) with; or (b) without defensive pressure on the throw-in team. RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b). COMMENT: Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court was inadvertent, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.

b. 2007-08 Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in for Team A, thrower A1 passes the ball directly on the court where it contacts (a) A2 or (b) B2, while he/she is standing on a boundary line. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation on (a) A2; (b) B2. The player was touched by the ball while out of bounds, thereby ending the throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow is reversed and pointed toward Team B's basket when the throw-in ends (when A2/B2 is touched by the ball). A throw-in is awarded at a spot nearest the out-of-bounds violation for (a) Team B; (b) Team A. (4-42-5; 6-4-4; 9-2-2; 9-3-2)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in from the end line after a made basket. Kajun Ref N Texas Basketball 12 Sun Oct 01, 2006 11:40am
Made basket ttownterp Basketball 2 Thu Feb 23, 2006 08:36pm
Basline throw-in after made basket and T.O. zebraman Basketball 23 Sat Mar 26, 2005 04:57am
Throw in after made basket Rodego Basketball 11 Fri Jul 30, 2004 05:12pm
Throw-In after made basket kschau Basketball 1 Sat Jan 20, 2001 11:10am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1