The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Need Help on this screw up

Adult rec game. I know but I can't help myself-it was city championship game and it paid really well. The rule set is NFHS. The only hybrid is you don't shoot any technicals-the points are just awarded.

Player A1 going for a lay-up on a fast break. Player B1 fouls and I deemed it an intentinal foul (lots of excessive contact). Player A1 gets up off the floor and pushs B1. End of the contact just a little more mouthing off to each other. Here is how my partner and I administered it.

2 shots lane cleared for the intential foul.
Then 2 shots for the technical foul. (really no shots due to hybrid rules)

Then gave Team A a throw-in at the division line.

No one said anything but I just think we got this wrong....

Feedback please......
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref
Adult rec game. I know but I can't help myself-it was city championship game and it paid really well. The rule set is NFHS. The only hybrid is you don't shoot any technicals-the points are just awarded.

Player A1 going for a lay-up on a fast break. Player B1 fouls and I deemed it an intentinal foul (lots of excessive contact). Player A1 gets up off the floor and pushs B1. End of the contact just a little more mouthing off to each other. Here is how my partner and I administered it.

2 shots lane cleared for the intential foul.
Then 2 shots for the technical foul. (really no shots due to hybrid rules)

Then gave Team A a throw-in at the division line.

No one said anything but I just think we got this wrong....

Feedback please......
That is your only mistake. The T means that Team B now gets the ball at the division line.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 04:00pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
What Nevadaref said.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
Don't have the rulebook in front of me, but if it is me, and If I know the rules like I think I do, I give A1 his two FT's for the intentional and then I give team B their Technical foul FT's and award B the ball out of bounds at the division line.

Also, depending on the play, and I would have to see it, I would have possibly whacked both players so that if either one of them did something later on they would both be tossed, jmo though.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
Also, depending on the play, and I would have to see it, I would have possibly whacked both players so that if either one of them did something later on they would both be tossed, jmo though.
I was thinking the same thing. Dead ball shove, followed by jawing? The jawing might get double T's from me, especially if they're "all up in" each other's grills, just to send a message.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 04:34pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
I was thinking the same thing. Dead ball shove, followed by jawing? The jawing might get double T's from me, especially if they're "all up in" each other's grills, just to send a message.
I guess both of you really are sending a message. You just tossed A1 outa the game for getting 2 "T"s.

Well....I guess you won't have to worry about tossing both of 'em later anyway. You only got one of 'em left in the game now--B1.

The only message you can send, short of unloading A1 only, is talking to 'em. I sureasheck wouldn't personally call the double "T"s for yapping, and let A1 be the only player tossed--- not when he was the one who got hard-fouled in the first place. Jmo.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You just tossed A1 outa the game for getting 2 "T"s.
Good catch. I guess I'd rather not toss just one of them, but if they're nose-to-nose cursing, he brought it on himself. I guess it would need to be more than just "a little jawing", but A1 doesn't get a pass just b/c he's the one that took a hard foul.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Good catch. I guess I'd rather not toss just one of them, but if they're nose-to-nose cursing, he brought it on himself. I guess it would need to be more than just "a little jawing", but A1 doesn't get a pass just b/c he's the one that took a hard foul.
I could see calling only the double T and not a single then double if the shove and jawing were not far seperated in time....part of the same altercation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 05:27pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I could see calling only the double T and not a single then double if the shove and jawing were not far seperated in time....part of the same altercation.
That would send the message.

Soooooo......you have an intentional foul on B1, followed by a double T on A1 and B1.....which means you would....?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 05:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 33
No FT for the Double T; 2 FT for Intentional Foul on A1 and A Ball at POI.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 05:52pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by refhoops
No FT for the Double T; 2 FT for Intentional Foul on A1 and A Ball at POI.
Why would team A get the ball at the POI?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 07:09pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Why would team A get the ball at the POI?
In my game, I'm going AP.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 07:25pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
In my game, I'm going AP.
As per what rule?

Another question.....if B1's foul was a normal 2-shot foul on a shooter instead of an intentional personal foul, and this was then followed by a double "T"...would you still go AP?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 08:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I guess both of you really are sending a message. You just tossed A1 outa the game for getting 2 "T"s.

Well....I guess you won't have to worry about tossing both of 'em later anyway. You only got one of 'em left in the game now--B1.

The only message you can send, short of unloading A1 only, is talking to 'em. I sureasheck wouldn't personally call the double "T"s for yapping, and let A1 be the only player tossed--- not when he was the one who got hard-fouled in the first place. Jmo.
I don't know why A1 would be ejected unless somehow you found out earlier in the game that he had received a T. I am saying even though A1 pushes to let the whole thing play out (jawing and what not) before you start blowing the whistle like a crazy man. You could whack both of them then.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 08:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
In my game, I'm going AP.
Why? Double fouls (both personal and technical) resume with the POI.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screw-ups lawump Baseball 7 Tue Jun 06, 2006 03:15pm
Cadet Screw Up! dacodee Softball 20 Wed May 18, 2005 11:46pm
scorebook screw-up Andy Volleyball 1 Fri Oct 24, 2003 01:48pm
Fixing Screw-ups nickdangerME Softball 3 Mon May 05, 2003 10:56am
Both teams screw up.... Andy Volleyball 6 Tue Oct 01, 2002 11:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1