The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 04:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Rule 9-3 refers to a player going OOB for an "unauthorized reason". Saving a ball is never an unauthorized reason.
It was not a save but a pass in the original post.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 04:21pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
It was not a save but a pass in the original post.
So?

There's no rule stating that you can't legally go OOB to make a pass.

The difference is being legally or illegally OOB. Being legally OOB is nuthin'. Being illegally OOB is a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
So?

There's no rule stating that you can't legally go OOB to make a pass.

The difference is being legally or illegally OOB. Being legally OOB is nuthin'. Being illegally OOB is a violation.
Ok, Got it!!
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
So?

There's no rule stating that you can't legally go OOB to make a pass.

The difference is being legally or illegally OOB. Being legally OOB is nuthin'. Being illegally OOB is a violation.
Believe me, I understand truerookie's and Hardwood's confusion, because I had difficulty grasping the difference between authorized and unauthorized at first. But try not to overthink this - in the original play, the pass was made while the player still had inbounds status, so that part is legal. The momentum carried them OOB, and that's also considered an authorized reason, as long as they then come back inbounds. A good example of an unauthorized reason would be purposely going OOB (not from momentum, but under control and on purpose) to avoid a screen set inbounds.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 05:09pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
- in the original play, the pass was made while the player still had inbounds status, so that part is legal. The momentum carried them OOB, and that's also considered an authorized reason, as long as they then come back inbounds.
That's the key right there. The player committed a legal act(pass,save,shot,etc.) while still having in-bounds status. Therefore--->legal play. His momentum then took him OOB, but he immediately returned in-bounds. Again---->legal play.

If the player didn't immediately return in-bounds, when able to, after being legally OOB as above----->technical foul.

If a player simply goes OOB to gain some kind of advantage(set an illegal screen, to avoid a screen, to get away from a defender, etc.)---->violation.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2006, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 359
Jurrassic Ref,

Did the rule change about 2-3 years ago, where before if you ran OOB to avoid screens, etc. it was a "T," but now only a violation?

What is the rule reference for that situation? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2006, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
Jurrassic Ref,

Did the rule change about 2-3 years ago, where before if you ran OOB to avoid screens, etc. it was a "T," but now only a violation?

What is the rule reference for that situation? Thanks.
9-3-2 10-3-3 was also changed, I think
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2006, 02:55pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
Jurrassic Ref,

Did the rule change about 2-3 years ago, where before if you ran OOB to avoid screens, etc. it was a "T," but now only a violation?

What is the rule reference for that situation? Thanks.
Yes, it changed in 2005-06. Rule 10-3-3 used to say it was a "T" to both (1)leave the court for an unauthorized reason or (2)delay returning after being legally OOB. They took (1) out of 10-3-3 and made it a violation under R9-3-2. Case book play 9.3.2SitB is the exact situations with a screen that you described above.

(2) is still a "T" under the revised 10-3-3.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2006, 02:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
so who here would call that T?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leaving the court while playing defense bgtg19 Basketball 4 Tue Nov 08, 2005 11:35pm
Throwing to F3 playing behind R1. (OBR) Lapopez Baseball 12 Tue Jul 13, 2004 12:41pm
Playing shorthanded Duke Softball 3 Tue Mar 23, 2004 09:59am
Not playing by the rules A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 22 Thu Jan 09, 2003 02:47pm
playing with 4 Nevadaref Basketball 11 Fri Nov 15, 2002 09:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1