The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: clinton, utah
Posts: 244
at disposal?

In reading the rule and case book I am a little unclear what is meant by "at the disposal of the player" for calling a time out on a throw in by team B (rule 5, sec8, art3b). Would that basically mean once I start my 5 second count or even before that? From the picture in the illustrated, and verbage in the case book it sounds like the ball just has to be near A1, not in their hands to prevent team B from calling a time out, correct? Thanks.
__________________
Ron
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Disposal is defined in 4-4-7. The count begins when the ball is at the disposal of the team. This is the exact same instant when the other team can no longer be granted a TO.

There has been some disagreement here in the past about when that exact moment is following a basket, but whenever the official decides it is, one action begins and the other cannot occur.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 12:02pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Disposal is defined in 4-4-7. The count begins when the ball is at the disposal of the team. This is the exact same instant when the other team can no longer be granted a TO.

There has been some disagreement here in the past about when that exact moment is following a basket, but whenever the official decides it is, one action begins and the other cannot occur.
The FED finally made a definitive ruling this year. It's posted on their web site and will probably be in the case book next year. Look at Situation 9 under this link:

http://www.nfhs.org/web/2006/10/2006..._rules_in.aspx

SITUATION 9: With less than one minute remaining in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end-line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out.
RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in count does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.

So....it looks like you can grant the TO until the thrower is actually OOB and ready to throw the ball in. Unless, of course, they are deliberately delaying going OOB.

For the record, when this play was still in doubt, Camron Rust took the position that the NFHS rulesmakers just agreed with. I didn't. One for Camron!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 05:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The FED finally made a definitive ruling this year. It's posted on their web site and will probably be in the case book next year. Look at Situation 9 under this link:

http://www.nfhs.org/web/2006/10/2006..._rules_in.aspx

SITUATION 9: With less than one minute remaining in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end-line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out.
RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in count does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.

So....it looks like you can grant the TO until the thrower is actually OOB and ready to throw the ball in. Unless, of course, they are deliberately delaying going OOB.

For the record, when this play was still in doubt, Camron Rust took the position that the NFHS rulesmakers just agreed with. I didn't. One for Camron!
Hey, I had to eventually get one right.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 06:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Hey, I had to eventually get one right.
Oh, Camron, you're way better than that. Why, I'll bet that eventually, you will have gotten two right!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2006, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
"The throw-in count does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count."

What determines when the official is to begin the 5-second count? Is this judgment, or is it defined elsewhere? Thanks for any clarification.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2006, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
"The throw-in count does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count."

What determines when the official is to begin the 5-second count? Is this judgment, or is it defined elsewhere? Thanks for any clarification.
That's what had been discussed here many times before. Some had argued that the ball is "at the disposal", and the count was to start, as soon as it drops through the net after the basket, which is when the team can take it. Others argued (and most had done in practice) that the count didn't start until after the player had the ball OOB and was ready to throw it in. This Situation 9 posted on the Fed. website now points towards the latter. I would think the reason they don't specify exactly when is to give us the judgement of being able to start the count sooner, if we feel the inbounding team might be trying to delay. For example, say team A is behind by only 1 after scoring, and there are 9 seconds left in the game. Team B might be "confused" as to who should handle the throw-in, and then slowly walk over to pick up the ball, maybe hand it to a teammate to let them throw it in, then the teammate hands it back and says, "No, I insist, you do the honors"...etc. all the time the clock is running. You get my drift? The official still gets the option of starting the count when they feel the team should be ready for the throw-in.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2006, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Unclear but ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
"The throw-in count does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count."

What determines when the official is to begin the 5-second count? Is this judgment, or is it defined elsewhere? Thanks for any clarification.
I think its not really clear by rule, but common sense tells me to wait until I as the official determine/think its at the disposal.

At a camp I attended last year they said to wait until the ball was OOB.
Then if team B hesitated (to set up a play etc.,) begin the count.

Common sense can cover the plays that coaches teach. We were taught to toss the ball to the official and then when he hands it back etc., it takes a few seconds off the clock.

Also this might cover the play where two players act like neither wants to take the ball out and thus the official waits etc.,

I know players today don't think too much, but there are some coaches and teams who still do ...

I can see the POV from the NFHS, but then I also know that there are a lot of officials who want it all in black and white.

Our state meeting this year it was interpreted that we could call TO until the count was started. HOwever, when it starts is still up to the official and his interpretation.

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2006, 12:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by David B
Our state meeting this year it was interpreted that we could call TO until the count was started.
Did your association also decide that you would let the new Trail official grant the time-out? Otherwise his partners have to actually look at this official to see if he has begun a count. Will most people do this? What will be done if a partner grants a TO after the count has begun?

Of course, mandating that this one official be the sole granter of time-out requests in this situation is silly and contrary to the NFHS rules.

I'm just pointing out that this isn't going to be as simple as you might think.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2006, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: clinton, utah
Posts: 244
Thanks for the responses and input, I understand it now and know how I will do it. As I mentioned on another post I have been away from officiating for two and a half years, and did not realize that it had already been discussed. Appreciate responding and helping me on an already (from the sounds of it) hashed out topic.

As an aside there have been a lot of changes to learn and adjust to!!!!!! Definite case of an old dog learning new tricks. As usually seems to be the case with officials, the referee's here in Utah have been great to make me feel welcome.
__________________
Ron
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
disposal of the shooter oc Basketball 13 Thu Jun 08, 2006 08:43pm
Ball At Disposal Rick Durkee Basketball 4 Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:21am
Available for your Disposal Rick Durkee Basketball 49 Fri Nov 12, 2004 05:31pm
FT:At the disposal of shooter justacoach Basketball 16 Sun Jan 11, 2004 09:53pm
"at the disposal of the shooter"? justacoach Basketball 14 Mon Apr 14, 2003 01:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1