Thread: at disposal?
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 05:56pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The FED finally made a definitive ruling this year. It's posted on their web site and will probably be in the case book next year. Look at Situation 9 under this link:

http://www.nfhs.org/web/2006/10/2006..._rules_in.aspx

SITUATION 9: With less than one minute remaining in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end-line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out.
RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in count does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.

So....it looks like you can grant the TO until the thrower is actually OOB and ready to throw the ball in. Unless, of course, they are deliberately delaying going OOB.

For the record, when this play was still in doubt, Camron Rust took the position that the NFHS rulesmakers just agreed with. I didn't. One for Camron!
Hey, I had to eventually get one right.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote