The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 02:59pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas
Except that 2-10-5 says that you cancel the free throw and the activity during it. My question is, if the free throw and the activitiy during it is canceled, why is the possession not canceled?
The possession isn't cancelled because the possession was not part of any activity during the wrong FT(s). The possession was after the last wrong FT had ended.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 03:04pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Kajun, I think the distinction is any activity during the FT; meaning that once possession is established then the FT has ended.

Not saying I agree with the correctable error rule or its interpretations.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 03:18pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Kajun, I think the distinction is any activity during the FT; meaning that once possession is established then the FT has ended.
Not really. The FT ends when the try is either successful or unsuccessful, or the try touches the floor or a player, or the ball becomes dead. Possession, either player/team, does not necessarily occur automatically when the FT ends. You could have a loose ball or a dead ball also. If you recognize the error before a change in possession occurs after the last wrong FT ended, then you just line 'em up and re-shoot the FT's with the correct shooter on the line.

The common criteria is that all of these activities occur after the last wrong FT ended, and that any activity that occurs after the last wrong FT ended is not cancelled, by rule.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Fri Oct 13, 2006 at 03:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 03:25pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Not really. The FT ends when the try is either successful or unsuccessful, or the try touches the floor or a player, or the ball becomes dead. Possession, either player/team, does not necessarily occur automatically when the FT ends. You could have a loose ball or a dead ball also. If you recognize the error before a change in possession occurs after the last wrong FT ended, then you just line 'em up and re-shoot the FT's with the correct shooter on the line.

The common criteria is that all of these activities occur after the last wrong FT ended, and that any activity that occurs after the last wrong FT ended is not cancelled, by rule.
Ok, maybe I should have said:

...I think the distinction is any activity during the FT; meaning that by the time possession is established then the FT has ended.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 03:39pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Ok, maybe I should have said:

...I think the distinction is any activity during the FT; meaning that by the time possession is established then the FT has ended.
I think that easier distinctions are:

1) Did the last wrong FT end? If so, everything that occurred before that is cancelled, but nothing that occurred after that is cancelled.
2) Did possession change after the last wrong FT ended? If so, you go to the POI after you shoot the substitute FT's. If not, you line up and shoot the substitute FT's.

A possession change would be a member of the non-shooting team either holding or dribbling a live ball in-bounds after the last wrong FT ended.

Make sense?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I think that easier distinctions are:

1) Did the last wrong FT end? If so, everything that occurred before that is cancelled, but nothing that occurred after that is cancelled.
2) Did possession change after the last wrong FT ended? If so, you go to the POI after you shoot the substitute FT's. If not, you line up and shoot the substitute FT's.

A possession change would be a member of the non-shooting team either holding or dribbling a live ball in-bounds after the last wrong FT ended.

Make sense?
You almost got it...here is my change.

"1) Did the last wrong FT end? If so, everything that occurred before that is cancelled (EXCEPT the POSSESSION by the THROWER), but nothing that occurred after that is cancelled."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 05:08pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas
You almost got it...here is my change.

"1) Did the last wrong FT end? If so, everything that occurred before that is cancelled (EXCEPT the POSSESSION by the THROWER), but nothing that occurred after that is cancelled."
Lah me....

If you didn't cancel the possession by the thrower before the wrong FT ended, then you would also have to count the FT's that were made during that possession by the wrong thrower.

Just for the record.....

I'm citing the way it actually is, by rule. If you want to change something, then you're trying to change the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 03:55pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I think that easier distinctions are:

1) Did the last wrong FT end? If so, everything that occurred before that is cancelled, but nothing that occurred after that is cancelled.
2) Did possession change after the last wrong FT ended? If so, you go to the POI after you shoot the substitute FT's. If not, you line up and shoot the substitute FT's.

A possession change would be a member of the non-shooting team either holding or dribbling a live ball in-bounds after the last wrong FT ended.

Make sense?
It probably will once I get into rulebook a little more this weekend.

I just got my NFHS rule and case books this week (no manual yet), so I am just starting to read.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The possession isn't cancelled because the possession was not part of any activity during the wrong FT(s). The possession was after the last wrong FT had ended.
Well, in order to have change in possession, you must have two possessions. There is possession by one team when the ball is at the disposal of the thrower, and possession by one team upon the rebound.

However, we are arguing semantics, which is dangerous with a Kajun. You were correct in that the possession by the throwing team is not canceled and therefore there is change in possession and therefore POI.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DH situation Huskerblue Baseball 10 Wed Apr 26, 2006 11:10am
Situation Skahtboi Softball 7 Mon Feb 20, 2006 09:41am
A situation I had TussAgee11 Baseball 18 Sat Feb 04, 2006 07:09pm
IW Situation CruiseMan Football 5 Sun Oct 03, 2004 11:41pm
FT Situation williebfree Basketball 4 Wed Jan 29, 2003 07:54am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1