The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fruit Heights, UT
Posts: 141
C.E. Situation ??

A friend brought this play up to me. I've tried looking a little but couldn't find it.

White 15 fouls green 15 on a rebound (push from behind). Confusion by the crew puts 15 white on the line for 1 & 1.

White makes both shots and green inbounds, while coming up the court, the crew realizes the mistake and stops play.

So what’s the correct call in this situation?

I know I'll catch hell for my opinion on this one, but here goes.

I would wipe the 2 pts off the board and put green on the line and start from there.

If green had scored on the possession we had after the erroneous 1 & 1, and then the crew or coach catches the error. I would say sorry (green) coach, botched it, and play on. (I would be more diplomatic, condensed for time and typing)

I could look my assignor in the eye with this fix and say, “I realize my solution may not have been text book, but was the right and fair thing to do”
__________________
"Do I smell the revolting stench of self-esteem?" Mr. Marks (John Lovitz, in The Producers)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Actually, I think you have done almost exactly what 2-10 recommends. The only mistake is letting the game flow from the green free throws. I think you have to let green shoot, and then give the ball back to green at the point the ball was when you stopped the game to correct the error. I realize that letting the game go from the 1-&-1 is "fairer" but the rule says POI. I'm not going to give you hell for it, though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 11:01am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by garote

White 15 fouls green 15 on a rebound (push from behind). Confusion by the crew puts 15 white on the line for 1 & 1.

White makes both shots and green inbounds, while coming up the court, the crew realizes the mistake and stops play.

So what’s the correct call in this situation?

I know I'll catch hell for my opinion on this one, but here goes.

I would wipe the 2 pts off the board and put green on the line and start from there.
Close. Cancel white's FT's. Put green 15 on the line with nobody lined up for the 1-1. After the first missed or second FT, go back to the POI where the error was discovered.

NFHS rules 2-10-1(c), 2-10-2, 2-10-4,5&6 .
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Unfortunately, I believe that allowing the opponent to shoot FTs constitutes a change of team possession since the error was made, so even though you have a correctable error that involves the awarding of merited FTs, you can't continue from there. You have to return the ball to Green for throw-in nearest where they had control when the game was stopped and the error recognized.

Also, if Green had scored on that possession, but the error was recognized prior to the throw-in, then it is still within the correctable timeframe.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Unfortunately, I believe that allowing the opponent to shoot FTs constitutes a change of team possession since the error was made, so even though you have a correctable error that involves the awarding of merited FTs, you can't continue from there. You have to return the ball to Green for throw-in nearest where they had control when the game was stopped and the error recognized.
Interesting question since, "the free throw and the activity during it...shall be canceled" (2-10-4). So is the change in possession as written in 10-2-6 canceled?

Any authoritative guidance?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kajun Ref N Texas
Interesting question since, "the free throw and the activity during it...shall be canceled" (2-10-4). So is the change in possession as written in 10-2-6 canceled?

Any authoritative guidance?
No. The rebound is after the FT ends....not during it.

What would be canceled is a personal foul or violation committed prior to the ending of the FT.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
No. The rebound is after the FT ends....not during it.

What would be canceled is a personal foul or violation committed prior to the ending of the FT.
Cameron,

I think you missed Nevada's point. The only change in possession in the original sitch is when White attempts the FTs.

My point is, if that is the only change in possession and we are canceling the FT and the activity during it, do we cancel the change in possession and thereby resume play after the FTs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DH situation Huskerblue Baseball 10 Wed Apr 26, 2006 11:10am
Situation Skahtboi Softball 7 Mon Feb 20, 2006 09:41am
A situation I had TussAgee11 Baseball 18 Sat Feb 04, 2006 07:09pm
IW Situation CruiseMan Football 5 Sun Oct 03, 2004 11:41pm
FT Situation williebfree Basketball 4 Wed Jan 29, 2003 07:54am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1