The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 06:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1
Designated Throw in Spot violation Rule 7-62

Rule 7-6-2 states that "The Thrower shall not leave the designated throw in spot until the ball has been released on a throw in pass." It also referances Rule 4-42-6, which says the same thing but adds that the pivot foot and traveling rule are not in effect. So the question is as a referee what signal is used, I could not find any referance to it in the book.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 06:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfcjdb
Rule 7-6-2 states that "The Thrower shall not leave the designated throw in spot until the ball has been released on a throw in pass." It also referances Rule 4-42-6, which says the same thing but adds that the pivot foot and traveling rule are not in effect. So the question is as a referee what signal is used, I could not find any referance to it in the book.

Do not you the traveling signal like most like to. Just point to the spot of the throw in and verbalize that the players violated and moved from the designated spot.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 06:36am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfcjdb
Rule 7-6-2 states that "The Thrower shall not leave the designated throw in spot until the ball has been released on a throw in pass." It also referances Rule 4-42-6, which says the same thing but adds that the pivot foot and traveling rule are not in effect. So the question is as a referee what signal is used, I could not find any referance to it in the book.
It's in the rule book....under "SIGNALS" at the back(surprise, surprise ). See signal #25- "Free throw, designated spot, or other violation"

Welcome to the Forum.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 43
I had one last year that threw me...its a really tight gym in a middle school game and the bleachers were maybe 2 feet off the boundry line.

I give the kid the ball for a spot throw in along the sideline and the kid jumps up on the first row of bleachers to throw it in. Of course I tweet and call a violation...coach goes off (he had obviously done this before) and says its within the confines of throw in rules. I just told him to have a seat and enjoy the game.

What is your ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by euby
I had one last year that threw me...its a really tight gym in a middle school game and the bleachers were maybe 2 feet off the boundry line.

I give the kid the ball for a spot throw in along the sideline and the kid jumps up on the first row of bleachers to throw it in. Of course I tweet and call a violation...coach goes off (he had obviously done this before) and says its within the confines of throw in rules. I just told him to have a seat and enjoy the game.

What is your ruling?
You should have moved the defender back 3 feet, giving the in-bounder 5 feet to move back if he chooses.


edited in later -
Per euby's response below, I would whistle up a throw-in violation.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)

Last edited by SamIAm; Tue Sep 26, 2006 at 10:19am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 43
The defender was double teaming the other guard...he wasn't anywhere near the throw in spot.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 08:37am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by euby
I had one last year that threw me...its a really tight gym in a middle school game and the bleachers were maybe 2 feet off the boundry line.

I give the kid the ball for a spot throw in along the sideline and the kid jumps up on the first row of bleachers to throw it in. Of course I tweet and call a violation...coach goes off (he had obviously done this before) and says its within the confines of throw in rules. I just told him to have a seat and enjoy the game.

What is your ruling?
Violation.

That was a topic of a thread here a few years ago. The consensus was that the thrower could back up to the stands, but climbing into the stands gave him an unfair advantage not intended under the rules.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 09:26am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Violation.

That was a topic of a thread here a few years ago. The consensus was that the thrower could back up to the stands, but climbing into the stands gave him an unfair advantage not intended under the rules.
I don't know. It's not explicitly forbidden, so it can't be a violation, can it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 10:07am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
I don't know. It's not explicitly forbidden, so it can't be a violation, can it.
Good point....smartazz.

Designated spot throw ins

Note that officials far smarter than I am- Mick and BktBallRef- said that it's illegal.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Wouldn't going into the stands consitute an unauthorized leaving of the floor?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 10:37am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Wouldn't going into the stands consitute an unauthorized leaving of the floor?
Nope, for the purposes of the pertinent rule-- R.9-3 and casebook play 9.3.2SitD --the "floor" is considered as being as being the playing court in-bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Nope, for the purposes of the pertinent rule-- R.9-3 and casebook play 9.3.2SitD --the "floor" is considered as being as being the playing court in-bounds.
Ok, just because I'm grumpy about not watching any post-season baseball, here's a question:

Gym with a wall along the baseline, with a doorway close to each of the sidelines. Endline throw-in, A1, goes out one door, comes back in the other door and completes the throw-in within 5 seconds. Whatcha got?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Ok, just because I'm grumpy about not watching any post-season baseball, here's a question:

Gym with a wall along the baseline, with a doorway close to each of the sidelines. Endline throw-in, A1, goes out one door, comes back in the other door and completes the throw-in within 5 seconds. Whatcha got?
Nothing if the player grabs me a dog and a soda at the concession stand while they're out of the gym.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 27, 2006, 02:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Ok, just because I'm grumpy about not watching any post-season baseball, here's a question:

Gym with a wall along the baseline, with a doorway close to each of the sidelines. Endline throw-in, A1, goes out one door, comes back in the other door and completes the throw-in within 5 seconds. Whatcha got?
Technical foul. A similar play appeared on ESPN a few years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 27, 2006, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Technical foul. A similar play appeared on ESPN a few years ago.
Actually, I don't think that was the play - the one on ESPN was the player leaving the court through the door, coming back in the other door, taking the pass in the corner and hiting the open shot. In other words, in the ESPN play the player leaves the court for an unauthorized reason, which is now a technical foul in NFHS. In my play, the player is supposed to be OOB, to make the throw-in, and also has the endline to run. So what would make the player's actions T-worthy, considering they're allowed to be OOB?

Ok, here's the reason for my original question - I think Jimgolf has a good point in considering a T for going into the stands to make the throw-in, for the same reason I believe my play could be considered a T as well. Here's my (twisted?) logic: we all agree the playing court is considered "inside the lines", because during normal play, all the players should be in-bounds. So how come we don't issue a T every time a player has a throw-in from OOB? Because they are now "authorized" to be OOB, and the playing court has expanded to include the area that player is allowed to be in, whether it's the 3-foot wide space for the spot throw-in, or the entire endline. If they step outside that playing area, it's a violation. If they go outside that area on purpose, with the intent to gain an unfair advantage and possibly deceive, than it's a T. In euby's play, the player didn't trip over the stands (violation), they purposely went into the stands to gain an unfair advantage. Since the coach admitted teaching that, I would think at least one T (and more than likely two) is in order.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Designated spot throw in violation? RefLarry Basketball 1 Sat Oct 15, 2005 07:10pm
Designated Throw-In Spot 7-6-2 PConley Basketball 2 Thu Jan 22, 2004 12:26pm
Designated Throw-in spot. Jerry Blum Basketball 6 Fri Oct 25, 2002 10:37am
Designated spot throw ins Art N Basketball 14 Tue Jan 16, 2001 08:29am
Designated Spot Throw-in Fox40 Basketball 4 Sun Oct 24, 1999 07:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1