The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 24, 2006, 06:46pm
oc oc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 321
throw-in fumble by A1

A1 on a throw-in fumbles the ball, leaves the designated spot (several feet), recovers, returns and throws the ball in all with in 5 seconds.

NCAA rule book covers this in 7-6 and says the ref is supposed to blow the play dead and readminister the ball but I don't see any reference to the play in NFHS. Any help for where to look?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 24, 2006, 06:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Violation for leaving the designated spot. (7-6-2)
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 24, 2006, 06:58pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,320
Please use common sense when possible. If the fumble is a result of the official giving the official the ball and a bad bounce occurs, no one is going to be upset if you stop play and give the ball back to the thrower.

Just my opinion.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 25, 2006, 02:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
If the fumble is a result of the official giving the official the ball...
That certainly would be something that should be fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 25, 2006, 07:31pm
oc oc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
That certainly would be something that should be fixed.
That's not an approved correctable error. Still U1's ball.

Last edited by oc; Mon Sep 25, 2006 at 07:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 25, 2006, 07:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 12
almost

It was very close to one thoe
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 25, 2006, 09:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by oc
A1 on a throw-in fumbles the ball, leaves the designated spot (several feet), recovers, returns and throws the ball in all with in 5 seconds.

NCAA rule book covers this in 7-6 and says the ref is supposed to blow the play dead and readminister the ball but I don't see any reference to the play in NFHS. Any help for where to look?
Blow the damn whistle & start over.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 12:36am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Blow the damn whistle & start over.
With the balance of his 5-second count available.... or a new 5 second count?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
With the balance of his 5-second count available.... or a new 5 second count?
You're kidding, right?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 109
Common sense says if the player fumbles it, violation. If it is a bad pass/bounce from the official, restart with a fresh 5. But one really should not have to restart a 5 second count anyway, due to the fact that if he/she fumbles the pass or handoff, one probably has not started that count. Unless one is the Flash that is!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 10:11am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
You're kidding, right?
Would I kid you?

If you've reached 4 1/2 on your count when the thrower fumbles the ball sideways, are you going to blow your whistle and re-set him with a full 5-second count?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Would I kid you?

If you've reached 4 1/2 on your count when the thrower fumbles the ball sideways, are you going to blow your whistle and re-set him with a full 5-second count?
Couple of points, the first unnecessary & the others more serious...

I don't ever get to 4 1/2 on my count. I go from 4 to 5 skipping whatever is in the middle. Same with the other numbers.

I most likely would not kill the play in your sitch, I'm going to continue counting. (I actually can't see how someone "fumbles the ball sideways" accidentally btw...in the gyms I work gravity causes the ball to get accidentally fumbled mostly downwards.)

You're going to ask me when I would blow the whistle to kill the play. The answer is when it seems likely A1 fumbled as I handed/bounced the ball to him or if he dropped it and I judged it was purely accidental and something very unusual happened that causes it to make him have to leave the spot, like it bounced off my foot maybe...

If I did kill the play A1 gets a new and complete 5 seconds. Same as would happen any other time a throw-in is stopped by a whistle without a violation or foul.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 12:04pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Would I kid you?

If you've reached 4 1/2 on your count when the thrower fumbles the ball sideways, are you going to blow your whistle and re-set him with a full 5-second count?
If he fumbles at 4 1/2 seconds I would say chances are very, very high that he will commit a 5 second violation.

But here's a question on that. Say thrower does fumble at 3 or 4 seconds. If throw-in team request a T-O while ball is loose, do you grant it?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
Please use common sense when possible. If the fumble is a result of the official giving the official the ball and a bad bounce occurs, no one is going to be upset if you stop play and give the ball back to the thrower.

Just my opinion.

Peace
Gotta agree. At least once a year I'll hand or bounce the ball to a player that is yelling instructions or not paying attention, and they do not get control of it. Pick up the ball and do it again. This is not a correctable error, but if you call that violation, you are going to be in for a long night from the coach. Obviously if they have the ball in their hands and are looking to pass it in, then fumble it, call the violation if they violate.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 01:12pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
I most likely would not kill the play in your sitch, I'm going to continue counting.


You're going to ask me when I would blow the whistle to kill the play. The answer is when it seems likely A1 fumbled as I handed/bounced the ball to him or if he dropped it and I judged it was purely accidental and something very unusual happened that causes it to make him have to leave the spot, like it bounced off my foot maybe...

If I did kill the play A1 gets a new and complete 5 seconds. Same as would happen any other time a throw-in is stopped by a whistle without a violation or foul.
We agree on both situations.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fumble? rbmartin Football 4 Tue Dec 14, 2004 06:09pm
Fumble?? fbref2 Football 1 Sun Nov 07, 2004 07:46pm
Fumble or Not? Foozeball Football 4 Fri Sep 26, 2003 03:14pm
Fumble sm_bbcoach Football 7 Sun Jul 20, 2003 08:21pm
Fumble-Dribble-Fumble doghead Basketball 5 Sat Oct 14, 2000 02:24pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1