The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 23, 2006, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
dribble start with two hands

A player catches the ball with both hands and while driving to the basket pushes the floor with both hands, takes two steps and shoots. Is this a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 23, 2006, 05:35pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by zooey1023
A player catches the ball with both hands and while driving to the basket pushes the floor with both hands, takes two steps and shoots. Is this a violation?
Maybe; maybe not.
Not enough information.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 23, 2006, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by zooey1023
A player catches the ball with both hands and while driving to the basket pushes the floor with both hands, takes two steps and shoots. Is this a violation?
A dribble is started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor. There is no requirement that the dribble be started with one hand.

I do not know if the "two steps" was legal or illegal. Traveling is not dictated solely by how many steps a player takes. You would have to understand the concept of the pivot foot to know if it was traveling or not.

NFHS Rules: 4-15 and 4-42

Z
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 23, 2006, 06:33pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebraman
A dribble is started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor. There is no requirement that the dribble be started with one hand. Z
I think there was an old case book play stating it could not be started with more than two.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 24, 2006, 12:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
I think there was an old case book play stating it could not be started with more than two.
NFHS rules do not apply to alien basketball.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 24, 2006, 06:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
sorry I should have been clearer. It was not a travel I was concerned with since he shot a layup and I don't think travelled. It was the dribbling with two hands. I thought that if this wasn't double dribbling then it should be palming since, if it is a "dribble" then it is one where the ball certainly has "come to rest" since catching and throwing it down seems to be exercising an inappropriate amount of control.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 24, 2006, 07:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,046
Sorry but it is still not clearer.

Double dribble does not mean dribbling with two hands; it means you dribble a second time after ending your dribble. It can not be palming either if the player did not dribble again.

Is it a travel? Was his pivot foot lifted and put back down before the ball was released on the shot? If so it is a travel.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 24, 2006, 07:42am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by zooey1023
It was not a travel I was concerned with since he shot a layup and I don't think travelled. It was the dribbling with two hands. I thought that if this wasn't double dribbling then it should be palming since, if it is a "dribble" then it is one where the ball certainly has "come to rest" since catching and throwing it down seems to be exercising an inappropriate amount of control.
You can start a dribble with two hands. If you touch the ball after that again with two hands, that ends the dribble. If the ball also comes to rest in a dribbler's hands(palming), that ends the dribble also. The dribble ending either of those ways, by itself, is never illegal; it's what the player does after the touching or the ball coming to rest that ended his dribble that will decide whether he has commited a violation or not. If he dribbles again---> violation. If he establishes a pivot foot after he ended the dribble, then if he lifts that pivot foot and brings it back down ----> travel also.

Iow, what Jay R said.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 25, 2006, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by zooey1023
A player catches the ball with both hands and while driving to the basket pushes the floor with both hands, takes two steps and shoots. Is this a violation?
In case you are interested, this is called a power dribble, occurs in almost every basketball game, and is usually the only dribble most coaches will allow a C or PF to use.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 25, 2006, 09:36am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
In case you are interested, this is called a power dribble, occurs in almost every basketball game, and is usually the only dribble most coaches will allow a C or PF to use.
Darryl Dawkins' signature move.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 25, 2006, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
zooey -- think about a power dribble in the post -- thats one quick and hard dribble with two hands. nothing illeagle.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 25, 2006, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
zooey -- think about a power dribble in the post -- thats one quick and hard dribble with two hands. nothing illeagle.
Help, help, it's a sick bird!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 25, 2006, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 59
the darryl d move is "right on target" with that move. I can see him now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal start of a dribble? RefLarry Basketball 20 Thu Oct 20, 2005 01:57pm
Hands at the Net lightenup Volleyball 4 Sat Dec 11, 2004 01:14pm
Hands where they don't belong Mark Padgett Basketball 3 Sat Feb 01, 2003 10:56pm
Does the bat have hands? Jeffrey A. Mathison Baseball 9 Tue Jul 09, 2002 12:52pm
Hands Hit Bandit Softball 6 Mon May 07, 2001 06:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1