View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 23, 2006, 05:37pm
zebraman zebraman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by zooey1023
A player catches the ball with both hands and while driving to the basket pushes the floor with both hands, takes two steps and shoots. Is this a violation?
A dribble is started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor. There is no requirement that the dribble be started with one hand.

I do not know if the "two steps" was legal or illegal. Traveling is not dictated solely by how many steps a player takes. You would have to understand the concept of the pivot foot to know if it was traveling or not.

NFHS Rules: 4-15 and 4-42

Z
Reply With Quote