The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 09:50am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick

[A player, in control (holding, dribbling), who is trapped by two defenders for 4 seconds, bounces the ball off one of the defenders' foot, or leg, and retrieves the ball may dribble. Yes?]

Is this from the book, mick, or is this your own summary? thanks
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 10:23am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by mick


[A player, in control (holding, dribbling), who is trapped by two defenders for 4 seconds, bounces the ball off one of the defenders' foot, or leg, and retrieves the ball may dribble. Yes?]








Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Is this from the book, mick, or is this your own summary? thanks
Well, just another ref, now you know that ain't in the 2005-06 Case book.

But 9-5-3 remains quite clear to most readers, and 4-39-1, -2, -3 is in the book, specifically Article 2 :
  • "A game regulation, commonly called a rule, sometimes states or implies that the ball is dead or a foul or a violation is involved. If it does not, it is assumed the ball is live and no foul or violation has occurred to affect the situation."
As I implied, if t'ain't no rule agin it, an action is okay.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 12:06pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
yabut...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
Quote:
........ if t'ain't no rule agin it, an action is okay.
mick
by the letter of the law, there IS a rule agin it. By definition, nothing has happened which ended the dribble. Therefore if the dribbler picks up the ball and starts another, violation. This is a call I remember only once. As I recall, I was uncertain whose foot the ball had hit, the dribbler's or the defender's. Dribbler chased the ball all the way across the court, picked it up and started over. I called the violation. Coach quickly helped me: "No! That hit his (defender's) foot!" I (often mistaken but never in doubt) quickly said, "Doesn't matter, dribble did not end on that." Later we talked about it, I told him I wasn't absolutely sure and would look it up. I did and decided I was right. (what a coincidence) That was probably 5 or 6 years ago and I've never seen this situation before or since, but it seems like something that would happen fairly often.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 12:20pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
by the letter of the law, there IS a rule agin it. By definition, nothing has happened which ended the dribble. Therefore if the dribbler picks up the ball and starts another, violation. This is a call I remember only once. As I recall, I was uncertain whose foot the ball had hit, the dribbler's or the defender's. Dribbler chased the ball all the way across the court, picked it up and started over. I called the violation. Coach quickly helped me: "No! That hit his (defender's) foot!" I (often mistaken but never in doubt) quickly said, "Doesn't matter, dribble did not end on that." Later we talked about it, I told him I wasn't absolutely sure and would look it up. I did and decided I was right. (what a coincidence) That was probably 5 or 6 years ago and I've never seen this situation before or since, but it seems like something that would happen fairly often.
What if a dribble hit a defender's body part other than the hand or foot?
Would you still call an illegal dribble violation if the dribbler recovered with both hands and started dribbling?

If you call a violation what rule do you use? I just don't see a problem once the opponent has touched the ball.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 12:32pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
If you call a violation what rule do you use? I just don't see a problem once the opponent has touched the ball.
mick

I probably have nothing if the opponent touched the ball. But I see it differently if the opponent was touched by the ball. If the dribbler loses control because of his own action, whether that involves the ball bouncing off his own foot, a defender's foot, an official's foot, or a dirt clod on the floor, I see nothing to indicate that his dribble has ended, so I would be more inclined to treat this as an interrupted dribble than a fumble or a just cuz.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 12:41pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
I probably have nothing if the opponent touched the ball. But I see it differently if the opponent was touched by the ball. If the dribbler loses control because of his own action, whether that involves the ball bouncing off his own foot, a defender's foot, an official's foot, or a dirt clod on the floor, I see nothing to indicate that his dribble has ended, so I would be more inclined to treat this as an interrupted dribble than a fumble or a just cuz.
See 4.15.4 Sit.D(c). It clearly states dribble has ended in the case of the dribbler's own foot, but that the ball may be recovered.

No mention of anyone elses foot implies no violation.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 12:50pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
See 4.15.4 Sit.D(c). It clearly states dribble has ended in the case of the dribbler's own foot, but that the ball may be recovered.

No mention of anyone elses foot implies no violation.
mick
It says the dribble ended when A1 caught the ball, not when it hit his foot. He may recover the ball, yes, but it does not say he can start another dribble. Are you saying that he can in this situation?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
I probably have nothing if the opponent touched the ball. But I see it differently if the opponent was touched by the ball. If the dribbler loses control because of his own action,
That's your wording, not the rule book's. If it touches anyone else, opponent, ref, teammate, at any body part, player control is lost, the dribble is gone and the former dribbler is entitled to a new dribble.

You may ask why more players don't dribble off opponent's foot as a matter of strategy to gain a new dribble. Well, I think it's more because it's extremely difficult. I can't imagine even the best player pulling it off very often.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 01:05pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
If it touches anyone else, opponent, ref, teammate, at any body part, player control is lost, the dribble is gone and the former dribbler is entitled to a new dribble.
This is what I am asking for. Where is this in the rule book? A dribble does not end just because player control ends. (interrupted dribble) As far as the opponent, 4-15-4 c. states that the dribble ends when An opponent bats (intentionallystrikes the ball with the hand(s)) the ball.
This insinuates to me that the ball touching another part of the body does not end the dribble, with the exception of a kicking violation, which of course causes the ball to become dead.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 01:37pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
That's your wording, not the rule book's. If it touches anyone else, opponent, ref, teammate, at any body part, player control is lost, the dribble is gone and the former dribbler is entitled to a new dribble.
Yup, doing so is interpreted as a fumble under rule 9-5-3. JAR is interpreting 9-5-3 differently than anyone else that I've ever met.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 04:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
That's your wording, not the rule book's. If it touches anyone else, opponent, ref, teammate, at any body part, player control is lost, the dribble is gone and the former dribbler is entitled to a new dribble.
The ref is part of the floor and would not be part of the things the ball can touch to enable a second dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
That's your wording, not the rule book's. If it touches anyone else, opponent, ref, teammate, at any body part, player control is lost, the dribble is gone and the former dribbler is entitled to a new dribble.
Camron made a great catch on this. As worded here this is a common basketball myth, I'm amazed when above kiddy ball a player will look at me in disbelief and shock when he restarts his dribble after an opponent merely touches the ball and I blow the whistle. But it happens, and my response is always to smile and say "You are kidding me, right?"
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 12:23pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
That was probably 5 or 6 years ago and I've never seen this situation before or since, but it seems like something that would happen fairly often.
Maybe it's in the 2000-01 case book right next to the rule about a disqualified player shooting a free throw.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 12:33pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Maybe it's in the 2000-01 case book right next to the rule about a disqualified player shooting a free throw.
BadNewsRef
It's not.
Just checked.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Travel, Illegal Dribble, or No Violation sportmagic Basketball 12 Fri Mar 10, 2006 05:22pm
Illegal start of a dribble? RefLarry Basketball 20 Thu Oct 20, 2005 01:57pm
illegal dribble elecref Basketball 22 Fri Sep 23, 2005 01:46pm
carry/illegal dribble cowbyfan1 Basketball 37 Thu Dec 04, 2003 09:08am
Illegal Dribble huskyz Basketball 20 Fri Nov 28, 2003 01:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1