Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by mick
					
				 Quote: 
........ if t'ain't no rule agin it, an action is okay.    
mick | 
	
 by the letter of the law, there IS a rule agin it.  By definition, nothing has happened which ended the dribble.  Therefore if the dribbler picks up the ball and starts another, violation.  This is a call I remember only once.  As I recall, I was uncertain whose foot the ball had hit, the dribbler's or the defender's.  Dribbler chased the ball all the way across the court, picked it up and started over.  I called the violation.  Coach quickly helped me:  "No!  That hit his (defender's) foot!"  I (often mistaken but never in doubt) quickly said,  "Doesn't matter, dribble did not end on that."  Later we talked about it, I told him I wasn't absolutely sure and would look it up.  I did and decided I was right. (what a coincidence)  That was probably 5 or 6 years ago and I've never seen this situation before or since, but it seems like something that would happen fairly often.