![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Here's the quote from the NCAA book as it appears on pages 127-128: RULE 9 Violations and Penalties "Section 4. Player Out of Bounds Art. 1. A player who steps out of bounds under his/her own volition and then becomes the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court has committed a violation. a. A violation has not been committed when a player, who steps out of bounds as permitted by Rule 7-5.8.a, does not receive the pass along the endline by a teammate and is the first to touch the ball after his or her return to the playing court. A.R. 13. Team A sets a double screen for A1, who, in attempting to come across the freethrow lane, is legally obstructed by offensive and defensive players so that A1 leaves the playing court under the basket, circles around, returns to the playing court and then is the first to receive the ball. RULING: A violation has been committed by A1 for leaving the playing court and then becomes the first player to touch the ball upon return." As you can see no where in the rule is possessing or holding the ball mentioned. |
|
|||
[QUOTE=Nevadaref]Sorry bud, but that is totally incorrect. The player does not even have to touch the ball prior to leaving the court, let alone possess it. Sorry to be so harsh, but you really need to get this stuff straight yourself before you speak so authoritatively on it to others looking for answers. Otherwise, you are doing more harm than help.
Here's the quote from the NCAA book as it appears on pages 127-128: A player who steps out of bounds under his/her own volition and then becomes the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court has committed a violation. a. A violation has not been committed when a player, who steps out of bounds as permitted by Rule 7-5.8.a, does not receive the pass along the endline by a teammate and is the first to touch the ball after his or her return to the playing court ]Team A sets a double screen for A1, who, in attempting to come across the freethrow lane, is legally obstructed by offensive and defensive players so that A1 leaves the playing court under the basket, circles around, returns to the playing court and then is the first to receive the ball. ]A violation has been committed by A1 for leaving the playing court and then becomes the first player to touch the ball upon returnAs you can see no where in the rule is possessing or holding the ball mentioned. Nevadaref: This is not the situation being discussed. Try page BR-112, article 1. Don't be so quick to judge. I am talking about a player NOT leaving the court voluntarily. Read the case A.R.1 thoroughly and see what you think it says. It delineates between last to touch and then returning to the floor and last to possess and then returning to the floor.
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement." |
|
|||
Quote:
RULE 7 Out of Bounds and the Throw-in Section 1. Out of Bounds—Player, Ball Art. 1. A player shall be out of bounds when he or she touches the floor or any object other than a player on or outside a boundary line. An airborne player’s status shall be where he or she was last in contact with the floor. A.R. 1. A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the floor in bounds but A1, who is off balance, falls outside the end line. A1 returns, secures control of the ball, and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 has not left the playing court voluntarily and was not in control of the ball when leaving the playing court. This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and momentum carries A1 off the playing court. The try is unsuccessful, and A1 comes onto the playing court and regains control of the ball. Art. 2. The ball shall be out of bounds when it touches a player who is out of bounds; any other person, the floor, or any object on or outside a boundary; the supports or back of the backboard; or the ceiling, overhead equipment or supports. A.R. 2. The ball rebounds from the edge of the backboard and across a boundary line. Before the ball touches the floor or any obstruction out of bounds, it is caught by a player who is in bounds. RULING: The ball is in bounds. A.R. 3. The ball touches or rolls along the edge of the backboard without touching the supports. RULING: The ball shall be live unless ground rules to the contrary have been mutually agreed upon before the game. A.R. 4. A throw-in by A1 strikes B1 who is in bounds, rebounds from B1 directly into the air, then strikes A1 who is still out of bounds. RULING: A1 shall be considered to have caused the ball to go out of bounds. The ball shall be awarded to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred. Art. 3. The ball shall be out of bounds when it passes over the backboard from any direction. Section 2. Ball Caused to Go Out of Bounds Art. 1. The ball shall be caused to go out of bounds by the last player to BR-112 To me AR 1 simply demonstrates that a player CAN be the last to touch the ball, leave the court (through momentum), then return and legally be the first to touch the ball. Whether the player blocked the pass or instead intercepted it by catching the ball has no bearing on the legality of the play. As long as he was not touching the ball when he fell out of bounds, he may legally return to the court and be the first to get the ball. That is what this AR is saying. Furthermore, the ruling uses an example of a player trying for goal, leaving the floor due to momentum, and then returning to be the first player to touch the ball. In that play, the player certainly was the last to possess the ball before leaving even though he did surrender both player and team control when trying for goal. This AR specifically says this action is legal. Didn't you post above that this was illegal? I truly don't know what you are talking about when you write, "last to possess and the first to touch. (illegal)" Are you talking about a backcourt violation? Last edited by Nevadaref; Sat Mar 25, 2006 at 05:54am. |
|
|||
Nevadaref: This is not the situation being discussed. Try page BR-112, article 1. Don't be so quick to judge. I am talking about a player NOT leaving the court voluntarily. Read the case A.R.1 thoroughly and see what you think it says. It delineates between last to touch and then returning to the floor and last to possess and then returning to the floor.
[/QUOTE]I read the case play thoroughly. My judgement is the same as Nevada's. You're completely wrong. Nowhere is there anything mentioned about being "the last to possess and the first to touch". Stick to dumping on NCAA officials. You're much better at that. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Additionally, the AR that you quote has nothing to do "being the last to POSSESS and the first to touch" either. The part of that AR that you seem to refer to talks about being "in control of the ball when leaving the playing court" (emphasis mine). It's talking about stepping OOB while holding or dribbling the ball. That is completely different from what you are claiming. So, as you can see, I have read your posts when you talk about the rules. ![]()
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
There are no rules and those are the rules. NCAA | JeffTheRef | Basketball | 6 | Sat Feb 07, 2004 11:01pm |