The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rules Queston (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/25695-rules-queston.html)

BonziBasketball Fri Mar 24, 2006 01:32am

Rules Queston
 
I was playing in an intramural game and had a question about a call. A player on the other team got a defensive rebound and I came from behind and hit it out of his hands. The ball bounced and stayed in bounds. I went out of bounds, jumped back in, planted both feet therefore establishing position and then picked up the ball that had been bouncing untouched near the sideline. Is this a violation??? It was called a turnover in the game.

Snake~eyes Fri Mar 24, 2006 02:14am

Did you go out intentionally?

Adam Fri Mar 24, 2006 02:38am

You only need to have one foot down in bounds, as long as the other foot isn't touching out of bounds, to establish position. Two feet are not required.
The only way this is a violation is if the ref determined you went out of bounds purposefully rather than by momentum.
That said, it's possible the ref has the rule wrong. Not much you can do about it, though, during the game. Not much you can do after the game, either, unless you're buddies with him.

BonziBasketball Fri Mar 24, 2006 05:18pm

So you're saying that if my momentum carried me out and I reestablished position, that there is no violation? Basically...it's the exact same thing as if this had happened in the open court. I hit the ball out of the defenders hands from behind...the ball bounced a few feet away...I walked up and got to the ball first w/o anyone touching it...no violation. i reestablished myself meaning the 2 situations are identical?

icallfouls Fri Mar 24, 2006 06:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BonziBasketball
I was playing in an intramural game and had a question about a call. A player on the other team got a defensive rebound and I came from behind and hit it out of his hands. The ball bounced and stayed in bounds. I went out of bounds, jumped back in, planted both feet therefore establishing position and then picked up the ball that had been bouncing untouched near the sideline. Is this a violation??? It was called a turnover in the game.


If you were the last person to touch the ball before you went out of bounds, you cannot be the first to touch the ball. This was probably the interpretation on the play in question.

justacoach Fri Mar 24, 2006 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by icallfouls
If you were the last person to touch the ball before you went out of bounds, you cannot be the first to touch the ball. This was probably the interpretation on the play in question.

Ahem.........cough,cough

blindzebra Fri Mar 24, 2006 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by icallfouls
If you were the last person to touch the ball before you went out of bounds, you cannot be the first to touch the ball. This was probably the interpretation on the play in question.

Make sure to throw your hat at the spot where the player left the FIELD.;)

Adam Fri Mar 24, 2006 08:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
Make sure to throw your hat at the spot where the player left the FIELD.;)

:D ROTFLMAO!

BktBallRef Fri Mar 24, 2006 08:35pm

Nfhs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by icallfouls
If you were the last person to touch the ball before you went out of bounds, you cannot be the first to touch the ball. This was probably the interpretation on the play in question.

NOT TRUE!!

Adam Fri Mar 24, 2006 08:36pm

:eek:
Quote:

Originally Posted by icallfouls
If you were the last person to touch the ball before you went out of bounds, you cannot be the first to touch the ball. This was probably the interpretation on the play in question.

:eek:

I'll say it since no one else has, yet.

While this may be the interpretation the ref used in making the call, he's wrong to make it unless this IM league is playing by NCAA women's rules. I've seen other-wise good refs make this call (in hs rules), but it's no less wrong.

ChuckElias Fri Mar 24, 2006 09:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
While this may be the interpretation the ref used in making the call, he's wrong to make it unless this IM league is playing by NCAA women's rules.

I know there are a lot of differences between the men's and women's games, but this isn't one of them, is it?

Dribble Fri Mar 24, 2006 09:15pm

Let's not forget this is an Intramural referee and may not have necessarily someone whose undergone the same training as us.

Alternatively, this ref may have seen or thought he'd seen one of your feet still out-of-bounds and called you out of bounds.

Adam Fri Mar 24, 2006 09:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
I know there are a lot of differences between the men's and women's games, but this isn't one of them, is it?

I'm completely willing to retract my statement. Is it a college rule in general?

JRutledge Fri Mar 24, 2006 10:32pm

NF--Not true at all.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by icallfouls
If you were the last person to touch the ball before you went out of bounds, you cannot be the first to touch the ball. This was probably the interpretation on the play in question.

This is not true as it relates to NF rules at all. This would only slightly be true at the NCAA level if you rule the player went out of bounds to gain an advantage and then touched the ball. Only then would a violation be even warranted. If the player accidentally went out of bounds (momentum takes them out of bounds), then they are allowed to touch the ball at any time as long as they first establish themselves inbounds.

Peace

socalreff Sat Mar 25, 2006 03:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
This is not true as it relates to NF rules at all. This would only slightly be true at the NCAA level if you rule the player went out of bounds to gain an advantage and then touched the ball. Only then would a violation be even warranted. If the player accidentally went out of bounds (momentum takes them out of bounds), then they are allowed to touch the ball at any time as long as they first establish themselves inbounds.

Peace

The NCAA rule refers to being the last to POSSESS and the first to touch. (illegal)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1