The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2006, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 98
Thumbs up

Consider 9.5.1 SITUATION: A1 ends a dribble and then jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. B1 partially blocks the shot, but A1 secures control again while still in the air. A1 returns to the floor and dribbles to the basket and scores.
RULING: Legal maneuver. Both player control and team control ended when A1 released the ball. When A1 recovered he/she could dribble again similar to dribbling after catching a pass or rebound.




The difference here is that the ball originally left the players hand on a try for goal, Loss of player and team control - Therefore there was no piviot foot established because the ball was recovered and fumbled and rerecovered in the air - when the player returned to the floor the first foot to hit was the pivot foot. As long as that dribble started before the player lifted that pivot foot, it is a legal play.
__________________
The trouble with officials is they just don't care who wins.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1